TC Moscow 2013: Navalny the Start-up

Important
December 9, 2013, 17:30

live

The results

“The campaign was very brief—we got to work in the middle of July, while the elections, as you remember, were held on September 8. But in the interim we were able to achieve solid results: Navalny’s rating among the electorate grew from 3% to 28%”.

“We built a good infrastructure for those who wanted to support us. Our headquarters developed quickly, and no worse than a start-up, as our staff grew from eight to 300 people”.

The difficulties

“The basic problems we faced were that we did not have access to the traditional mainstream media and the fact that we had to come up with a campaign during the summer, which is when everybody leaves the cities. It wasn’t easy getting in touch with voters. The combination of these factors helped us understand that we had to think up a blended offline/online approach”.

Online vs. offline

“We understood that we would be leaders online, as the young audience supported us, but also that that wasn’t enough. If we were going to bring in only the youth vote, we would get only 30% percent of the total figure. We had to take the online campaign offline, for which we had two months. At this stage there was nothing for it but to use start-up applications”.

How it worked

 

“We specified three primary audience segments: volunteers, support groups, and people who just didn’t care. Accordingly, we needed three strategies. For the volunteers we put together an infrastructure, while we did our best to make support groups members into volunteers. We told the rest who Navalny was and why they should vote for him”.

Know-how

“We thought up a large number of services that could involve voters in the campaign: cubes and sms-cubes, Mosvpiska, Navalny@home. We also put together regional chats where people could coordinate their activities on site. Finally, we improved our work with internet entrepreneurs and bought a large number of media ads, primarily on the internet”.

Morale

“If you bring in motivated people and set up strict time and resource limitations, they can achieve a lot. We thought up how to activate people in Moscow and outside it and how to use both those who wanted to devote their time to the campaign and even those who didn’t. Start-up mechanics work!”

TC Moscow 2013 Photostream

photo gallery

all photos of event

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

Blockchain Executive курс Blockchain Executive

Курс по блокчейн-технологим от DO

Genesis Moscow Conference конференция Genesis Moscow Conference

Вторая международная блокчейн конференция Genesis Moscow

MBLTdev 2017 конференция MBLTdev 2017

ежегодная конференция мобильных разработчиков MBLTdev 2017

TC Moscow 2013: Навальный как стартап

Important
9 декабря 2013, 17:30

трансляция мероприятия

Первоклассный урок интернет-политики во второй день TechCrunch Moscow провели Леонид Волков и Екатерина Патюлина – те самые люди, которые руководили избирательным штабом Алексея Навального. Они рассказали о том, как строить предвыборные акции онлайн и оффлайн. А что из этого вышло, мы и сами уже знаем.

О результатах

«Кампания была очень короткой, приступили к работе мы в середине июля, а выборы, как вы помните, состоялись 8 сентября. Но за этот промежуток времени мы добились хороших результатов – авторитет Навального среди избирателей вырос с 3% до 28%».

«Мы построили хорошую инфраструктуру для тех, кто был готов нас поддержать. Штаб-квартира развивалась стремительно, не хуже, чем стартап – ее состав вырос с 8 до 300 человек».

О сложностях

«Основные проблемы, с которыми мы столкнулись – нам был закрыт доступ к традиционным СМИ, а также надо было придумать кампанию летом, когда все уезжают из города. Достучаться до избирателей было нелегко. Но именно эта комбинация помогла нам понять, что мы должны придумать комбинацию онлайн- и оффлайн-методов».

Онлайн vs оффлайн

«Мы понимали, что в онлайне мы будем лидировать, молодая аудитория нас поддержит, но этого было недостаточно. Если бы мы привлекли только молодую аудиторию, то не набрали бы 30% голосов. Надо было из онлайна кампанию вывести в оффлайн, на что у нас было всего два месяца. И здесь нам было не обойтись без чисто стартаперских приемов».

Как это работало

«Мы выделили три основных сегмента аудитории – добровольцы, группа поддержки, а также люди, которым все равно. Соответственно, требовались три стратегии. Для добровольцев создали инфраструктуру, членов группы поддержки стремились сделать добровольцами. Остальным рассказывали, кто такой Навальный и почему за него стоит голосовать».

Ноу-хау

«Мы придумали большое количество сервисов для вовлечения избирателей в кампанию – кубы и смс-кубы, Мосвписка, Navalny@home. Придумали региональные чаты, с помощью которых люди координировали свою деятельность на местах. Наладили работу с интернет-предпринимателями, купили большое количество медийной рекламы, в основном в интернете».

Мораль

«Если взять хорошо мотивированных людей и поставить жесткое ограничение по времени и ресурсам, они могут многого добиться. Мы придумали, как активировать людей в Москве и за ее пределами, как задействовать тех, кто готов посвятить время на избирательную кампанию, а кто нет. Startup mechanics works!».

TC Moscow 2013 Photostream

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com