Shai Reshef. Digital education for people of Earth

Important
September 14, 2012, 20:00 lecture

live

On September 14, in the framework of the Knowledge Stream project, the famous businessman Shai Reshef, one of the 50 “people who are changing the world,” according to Wired magazine, gave a talk in the Digital October center. In 2009, he created and headed the world’s first free online university, the University of the People (UoPeople).

After 20 years of work in the education business, Shai Reshef sold the companies that he owned and decided that “the time had come not to take, but to give back.” He knew from his own experience the online education opens wide possibilities for students, but is too expensive for most young people. And so the idea was born of creating the free university UoPeople, which has given the possibility of obtaining higher education to people for whom earlier this was only a dream.

Today, one-and-a-half thousand students from 132 countries are studying at the online university. They include young people from poor developing countries, as well as handicapped people who cannot attend a typical university. Professors from the world’s most prestigious institutions of high learning – Harvard, Oxford, Yale, and Columbia – volunteer to teach them from a distance. UoPeople is the world’s second-highest-ranked university in terms of number of friends on Facebook, with a million people subscribing to its page (only Harvard has more)

UoPeople exists thanks to the support of benefactors: Bill and Melinda Gates, Bill Clinton and Hewlett-Packard contribute to the development of universally accessible education. The university also takes symbolic fees from those students who are capable of doing so; a small amount is taken upon enrollment (from $10 to $50) and upon finishing exams ($100).

Shai Reshef considers UoPeople to be an instrument that gives equal opportunities to everyone: no matter the country in which someone has been born, and no matter how much money he has in his wallet. The university has yet another, more hidden goal – supporting peace and strengthening connections between different peoples and religions. Students from Israel and Palestine, India and Pakistan, and Greece and Turkey study together in UoPeople’s virtual classrooms, and the hostility between their states does not keep them from becoming friends.

How has Shai Reshef managed to attract the attention of large corporations and charitable foundations to his project? How has he gathered together professors from the best universities? How has he managed to get such a number of subscribers on Facebook? Shai Reshef talked about all of these things in his lecture.

speakers

507 show Vladimir
Moryzhenkov
Professor, Scientific advisor of International Business School Executive MBA LWB at State University of Management
505 show Evgeniy
Pluzhnik
First Vice-Rector of Moscow Technology Institute, Moscow Business School CEO
506 show Elena
Tikhomirova
Moderator, eLearning CEO
504 show Anatoliy
Shkerd
National Open University "INTUIT" Rector

photo gallery

all photos of event

General partner

Rostelecom

Intellectual partner

Russian Venture Company

Desire accomplishment partner

YouDo

Language partner

LinguaLeo

Media partners

GlobalTechnovations
Moskva.fm
RMA
StartupAfisha
StartupPoint
SuperJob
Viadeo
Look at me
Moscow24
COSSA
F5
Theory&Practice
HR Management Magazine
Slon.ru
Vokrug Sveta Magazine
Frukt
PRO BusinessTV
Blogun
Institute of Open Business Education and Design
GreenfieldProject
Business portal Smallbusiness.ru
Chaskor (Private Correspondent)
Tomsk Politechnic University
BrainOn
Moscow Business School
HSBI
FLACON

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

WordCamp Moscow 2017 конференция WordCamp Moscow 2017

пятая официальная конференция по WordPress в России

HR&Trainings EXPO конференция HR&Trainings EXPO

Конференция, на которой соберутся сильнейшие представители области управления персоналом

MBLTdev 2017 конференция MBLTdev 2017

ежегодная конференция мобильных разработчиков MBLTdev 2017

Шаи Решеф. Цифровое образование для землян

Important
14 сентября 2012, 20:00 лекция

трансляция мероприятия

14 сентября в центре Digital October в рамках проекта Knowledge Stream выступил известный бизнесмен Шаи Решеф, который входит в число «50 людей, меняющих мир» по версии журнала Wired. В 2009 году он создал и возглавил первый в мире бесплатный онлайн-университет University of the People (UoPeople).

После двадцати лет работы в образовательном бизнесе Шаи Решеф продал компании, которыми владел, и решил, что «настало время не брать, а отдавать». По своему опыту он знал, что онлайн образование открывает широкие перспективы для учащихся, но оно слишком дорого для большинства молодых людей. Так родилась идея создания бесплатного университета UoPeople, который подарил возможность получить высшее образование тем, для кого раньше оно было лишь мечтой.

Сейчас в онлайн-университете учатся 1,5 тыс. студентов из 132 стран мира. Среди них — молодые люди из бедных развивающихся стран, а также инвалиды, не имеющие возможности поступить в обычный вуз. Их дистанционно обучают лучшие профессора-волонтеры из самых престижных учебных заведений мира: Гарварда, Оксфорда, Йельского и Колумбийского университетов. UoPeople второй в мире университет по числу друзей в Facebook — на его страницу подписан миллион человек (больше только у Гарварда).

UoPeople существует благодаря поддержке благотворителей: свой вклад в развитие общедоступного образования вносят Билл и Мелинда Гейтс, Билл Клинтон, компания Hewlett Packard. Университет также взимает символические взносы с тех студентов, которые могут себе это позволить: небольшая сумма берется за поступление (от $10 до $50) и за сдачу экзаменов ($100).

Шаи Решеф считает UoPeople инструментом настоящей демократии, которая дает равные возможности всем: в какой бы стране человек ни родился, и сколько бы денег ни было в его кошельке. Еще одна, неочевидная цель университета, — поддержание мира и укрепление связей между разными народами и конфессиями. В виртуальных классах UoPeople вместе учатся студенты из Израиля и Палестины, Индии и Пакистана, Греции и Турции — и вражда между государствами не мешает их дружбе.

Как Шаи Решефу удалось привлечь к своему проекту внимание крупных корпораций и благотворительных фондов? Как он собрал сообщество профессоров лучших вузов? Как он смог достичь такого числа подписчиков в Facebook? Обо всем этом Шаи Решеф рассказал в своей лекции.

Стенограмма лекции Шаи Решефа.

Спикеры

507 show Владимир
Морыженков
Профессор, научный руководитель Международной бизнес-школы Executive MBA LWB Государственного университета управления
505 show Евгений
Плужник
Первый проректор Московского технологического института, гендиректор Московской бизнес-школы
506 show Елена
Тихомирова
Модератор, генеральный директор Центра eLearning
504 show Анатолий
Шкред
Ректор Национального открытого университета "ИНТУИТ"

Генеральный партнер

Ростелеком

Интеллектуальный партнер

Российская венчурная компания

Партнер по исполнению желаний

YouDo

Языковой партнер

Лингвалео

Информационные партнеры

GlobalTechnovations
Moskva.fm
RMA
СтартапАфиша
StartupPoint
SuperJob
Viadeo
Look at me
Москва24
COSSA
F5
Теории и Практики
Журнал "HR Менеджмент"
Slon.ru
Журнал "Вокруг света"
Frukt
PRO бизнес
Блогун
Институт открытого бизнес-образования и дизайна (ИнОБО)
GreenfieldProject
Портал предпринимателей Smallbusiness.ru
Частный корреспондент
Томский политехнический университет
BrainOn
Moscow Business School
Высшая школа бизнес-информатики (ВШБИ)
FLACON

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com