DEMO Keynote: Sergey Belousov on the Future of Tech Companies

June 3, 2013, 11:00


The first DEMO Europe conference, held at the Digital October Center June 3-4, featured a series of lectures in keynote format — unique “notes in the margins” from the leaders of the IT industry, observations, and suggestions about what to expect from the industry in the coming years.

The first lecture was given by Sergey Belousov, founder of Parallels, senior partner at Runa Capital, and currently CEO at Acronis.

Observation Number One

“Does it seem like CDs and DVDs were just recently the next big thing, while as it stands nobody even uses them anymore? I think that in three years boxed software will have completely disappeared from store shelves.

“When Amazon first introduced the idea of the cloud it was a major discovery. Two years later there is already nothing out of the ordinary about it at all. Beginning next year we will stop talking about the cloud as some sort of phenomenon, as it will have become the norm.

“If I ask you in twelve months who has their own server nobody will answer, because cloud solutions will have become cheaper than supporting your own server.”

Observation Number Two

“When I started working for Runa I thought that working as a venture capitalist was really easy. I didn’t want to just sit at the seaside with my pension and looked at working at a fund as a different sort of alternative. If you look at how ‘easy’ it has been for me to travel constantly around the world in the last year you will understand that being an investor is no walk in the park.

“Here are a few observations I would like to share about the condition of the market overall that I have drawn from my time in this area.

“In the last few years Google has come out with a number of important innovations: Android, Chrome, Google Glass. That last one is a long story and, I think, a significant one. Google is becoming a new platform.


”Google may even be the next Microsoft.


“Everyone is on the edge of their seats to see what Facebook will do next. Being a platform for communication, a social network, is already a blast from the past. It’s time for them to move on from traditional business, though nobody understands yet what that will look like.

“It isn’t clear what will happen next with Apple. Of course, it’s still a huge company and they still have the biggest share of the market from the point of view of mobile app usage. But they have many strong competitors.

“Apple, it so happens, is more about innovation than being a platform; that is, they need to keep releasing something new to keep their head above water. When Steve Jobs was alive it was clear in what direction they would develop, though what will happen next…we shall see.”

Observation Number Three

“Big companies are historically the major consumers of IT products, as on average they spend $2000 per person yearly on such products. On the other hand, small business historically spend less on IT — the small business market is so complicated and there are so many companies, each with their own needs, that nobody has developed it.

“With the introduction of the cloud as a way to offer services, small companies will be offered the same level of IT. I predict that


cloud solutions for small businesses will be for one of the key IT growth markets in the near future.


The market is already appraised at $95 billion by 2015.”


591 show Serguei
Runa Capital


119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25

Digital October

Fuckup Nights Vol.XVII лекции Fuckup Nights Vol.XVII

истории о громких бизнес-неудачах, как уберечь компанию от краха

Azure Day Moscow 2018 конференция Azure Day Moscow 2018

ежегодная конференция, которую проводит сообщество Microsoft MVP

Waves Blockchain Hackathon хакатон Waves Blockchain Hackathon

Хакатон по блокчейну

DEMO Europe: Сергей Белоусов о будущем технологических компаний

Important
3 июня 2013, 11:00 доклад

 

В рамках прошедшей 3-4 июня в центре Digital October первой конференции DEMO Europe состоялась серия докладов в формате keynotes – своеобразных «заметок на полях» от лидеров IT-индустрии, наблюдений и предположений о том, что ждет отрасль в ближайшие годы.

Первым свой доклад представил Сергей Белоусов, основатель Parallels и старший партнер фонда Runa Capital, в настоящее время – CEO Acronis.

 

Наблюдение первое

«Кажется, что CD и DVD-диски еще недавно были чем-то самым крутым в мире, а сейчас – ну кто ими пользуется? А года через 3, как мне кажется, тот же софт в коробках может вовсе исчезнуть из магазинов».

«Когда Amazon ввел термин облака – это стало открытием. Уже через два года – чем-то, что не вызывало удивления. А уже со следующего года мы окончательно перестанем говорить об облаке как о феномене, настолько это станет привычным».

«Если через 12 месяцев я спрошу, кто из вас имеет собственный сервер, мало кто ответит утвердительно. Просто потому, что цена облачного решения становится дешевле, чем поддержка своего».

Наблюдение второе

«Когда я занялся Runa, то думал, что работа венчурного капиталиста – это очень легко. Я не хотел просто сидеть на берегу моря на пенсии, и рассматривал работу в фонде как некую альтернативу. Если вы посмотрите, сколько я с такой «легкой» работой за последний год наездился по миру, вы тоже поймете, что быть инвестором – это не прогулка».

«Вот несколько наблюдений о состоянии рынка в целом, которые я вынес за это время, и которыми хотел бы поделиться».

«За последние несколько лет Google вышел с рядом важный инноваций – Android, Chrome, Google Glasses. Последние – это очень большая история и, как мне кажется, очень значимая. Гугл становится новой платформой».

 

Может быть, Google – это даже следующий Microsoft».

 

«Все ждут, когда что-то новое сделает Facebook. Быть платформой для общения, соцсетью для всех – это уходит в прошлое. Им пора отходить от традиционного бизнеса, но пока никто не понимает, что это будет.

«Не очень понятно, что будет дальше с Apple. Конечно, это все еще величайшая компания, у нее до сих пор самая большая доля рынка с точки зрения использования мобильных приложений. Но и много сильных конкурентов».

«Вот Apple как раз – компания не платформенная, а инновационная, т.е. она должна постоянно предлагать что-то новое, чтобы оставаться на плаву. Когда был жив Джобс, было понятно, как они будут развиваться. Как будет сейчас – посмотрим».

Наблюдение третье

«Большие бизнесы – исторические потребители IT-продуктов, в среднем они тратят по $2000 в год на такие продукты на человека. Исторически же малый бизнес денег на IT тратил мало: рынок малого бизнеса настолько сложен, там столько компаний, каждая со своими нуждами, что им просто мало занимались».

«С приходом облаков как способа предоставления услуг, небольшие компании получат IT уровня предприятия. Я предсказываю, что именно

 

облака для малого бизнеса будут одним из ключевых рынков для роста IT в ближайшее время.

 

Оценка этого рынка составляет $95 миллиардов уже к 2015 году».

 

 

Спикеры

591 show Сергей
Белоусов
Runa Capital

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com