Nancy Abrams. Think cosmically, act globally, eat locally

Important
September 26, 2012, 20:00 lecture

live

On September 26, in the Digital October center, in the framework of the Knowledge Stream project, a lecture by the American philosopher and cosmologist Nancy Abrams took place. She presented a new view on the place of humanity in the universe that may unite us all around finding a solution to global problems.

Nancy Abrams’ education is in the areas of history, philosophy, and law. Her scientific interests include the problem of how modern science and politics interact. Nancy is the author of numerous articles and several books. In particular, she has written the books The View from the Center of the Universe (2006) and The New Universe and the Human Future (2011) along with the famous cosmologist Joel Primack.

Nancy Abrams holds that humanity needs to solve global problems, for otherwise history will end very soon. In her opinion, science has created enough tools for such problems to be combated. However, humanity is ignoring them through a lack of motivation or contradictions with religion. Only small groups of enthusiasts are concerned with global challenges.

Nancy Abrams suggests looking at the universe and humanity in a new way. In her view, a new self-identification – the understanding of oneself as a unique result of evolution and the main outcome of the development of the Universe – can become the main motivation for people.

According to many parameters, humanity is in the metaphysical “center” of the universe. His size is average among the objects of the universe, occupying a position between space and the Planck constant. Moreover, human civilization exists in the middle of the astronomical life of the Solar System. In addition, according to Nancy Abrams, humanity is composed of the rarest material in the universe – “stardust” – the atoms of the matter to which we are accustomed, which make up only 0.001% of the Universe’s total volume, if dark energy and dark matter are considered.

Abrams believes that our generation is in a very favorable position, insofar as it has a scientific explanation of what is going on in the universe and the tools for solving all problems. The understanding of the uniqueness of humanity can become the center of a new, scientifically-based worldview that will unite all people and help preserve the planet for future generations. In her lecture, Nancy Abrams spoke in detail about her view of the evolution of the universe and humanity’s place in the world.

speakers

510 show Maksim
Kalashnikov
Writer, futurist, journalist
511 show Vladimir
Lipunov
Professor of MSU, Head of Space Monitoring Laboratory
472 show Danila
Medvedev
Member of the coordination council of the Russian Transhumanist Movement, futurologist, host of TV program For the Future on Nauka 2.0 TV channel
509 show Boris
Rezhabek
Ph.D., associate editor of "Global studies" encyclopedia
508 show Aleksey
Turchin
Writer, psychologist, global risks researcher

photo gallery

all photos of event

General partner

Rostelecom

Intellectual partner

Russian Venture Company

Language partner

LinguaLeo

Media partners

F5
FLACON
Frukt
HR Management Magazine
Moskva.fm
PRO BusinessTV
Viadeo
Slon.ru
Theory&Practice
Russia 2045
StartupAfisha
Moscow24
StartupPoint
Vokrug Sveta Magazine
Moscow Business School
Saex
GreenfieldProject
League of Education
LiveJournal
Chaskor (Private Correspondent)
HSBI
practice21.ru
BrainOn

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

Blockchain Executive курс Blockchain Executive

Курс по блокчейн-технологим от DO

HR&Trainings EXPO конференция HR&Trainings EXPO

Конференция, на которой соберутся сильнейшие представители области управления персоналом

MBLTdev 2017 конференция MBLTdev 2017

ежегодная конференция мобильных разработчиков MBLTdev 2017

Нэнси Абрамс. Мы дети Галактики

Important
26 сентября 2012, 20:00 лекция

трансляция мероприятия

26 сентября в центре Digital October в рамках проекта Knowledge Stream прошла лекция американского философа и космолога Нэнси Абрамс. Она представила новый взгляд на место человека во вселенной, который сможет объединить всех нас вокруг решения глобальных проблем.

Нэнси Абрамс получила образование области истории, философии и права. В сфере ее научных интересов — проблема взаимодействия современной науки и политики. Нэнси является автором многочисленных статей и нескольких книг. В частности, в соавторстве с известным космологом Джоэлем Примаком она написала книги «Взгляд из центра вселенной» (The View from the Center of the Universe, 2006) и «Новая вселенная и будущее человека» (The New Universe and the Human Future, 2011).

Нэнси Абрамс считает, что человек обязан решать глобальные проблемы, иначе конец истории станет реальностью очень скоро. По ее мнению, наука создала уже достаточно инструментов для борьбы с такими проблемами. Однако человечество игнорирует их из-за недостатка мотивации или религиозных противоречий. Глобальными вызовами занимаются лишь небольшие группы энтузиастов.

Нэнси Абрамс предлагает посмотреть на вселенную и человека по-новому. По ее мнению, главной мотивацией для людей может стать новая самоидентификация — понимание себя как уникального результата эволюции, главного итога развития Вселенной.

Человек по многим параметрам находится в метафизическом «центре» мироздания. Он имеет средний размер среди всех объектов вселенной, занимая место между космосом и «Планковской длиной». Кроме того, существование человеческой цивилизации приходится на середину астрономической жизни Солнечной системы. Также, по словам Нэнси Абрамс, человек состоит из редчайшего во вселенной материала — «звездной пыли» — атомов привычной нам материи, которые составляют всего 0,001% от общего объема Вселенной, если считать темную энергию и темную материю.

Абрамс считает, что наше поколение находится в выгоднейшем положении, поскольку имеет научное объяснение происхождения вселенной и инструменты для решения всех проблем. И понимание исключительности человека может встать в центре нового, основанного на науке мировоззрения, которое объединит всех людей и поможет сохранить планету для новых поколений.

В своей лекции Нэнси Абрамс подробно рассказала о своем взгляде на развитие вселенной и место человека в мире.

Стенограмма лекции Нэнси Абрамс.

Спикеры

510 show Максим
Калашников
Писатель-футуролог, журналист
511 show Владимир
Липунов
Профессор МГУ, заведующий лабораторией космического мониторинга
472 show Данила
Медведев
Член координационного совета Российского трансгуманистического движения, футуролог, ведущий программы «На будущее» телеканала «Наука 2.0»
509 show Борис
Режабек
Кандидат биологических наук, член редколлегии энциклопедии "Глобалистика"
508 show Алексей
Турчин
Писатель, исследователь глобальных рисков, психолог

Генеральный партнер

Ростелеком

Интеллектуальный партнер

Российская венчурная компания

Языковой партнер

Лингвалео

Информационные партнеры

F5
FLACON
Frukt
Журнал "HR Менеджмент"
Moskva.fm
PRO бизнес
Viadeo
Slon.ru
Теории и Практики
Россия 2045
СтартапАфиша
Москва24
StartupPoint
Журнал "Вокруг света"
Moscow Business School
Saex
GreenfieldProject
Лига образования
LiveJournal
Частный корреспондент
Высшая школа бизнес-информатики (ВШБИ)
Практика 21
BrainOn

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com