Scott Cohen. World Fame: inexpensive, high quality, not spam

Important
February 13, 2012, 20:00 lecture

live

The global education project Knowledge Stream presented a remote lecture by Scott Cohen, founder of The Orchard, one of the largest companies in the world to sell digital content. Cohen's speech, "World Fame: inexpensive, high quality, not spam", was a continuation of the discussion on the future of communication.

On February 13th Scott Cohen, a professor at London Metropolitan University and a member of the British Phonographic Industry, told about how to effectively use new media in order to interest a wide audience in one's projects.  It was not be the first time that Digital October conference had heard proof of technological influences changing business paradigms.  To illustrate these new trends, Cohen discussed the road to fame of well-known representatives of the music industry, such as Lady Gaga. Scott focused on the practical aspects of this process, it was therefore made clear how much should be invested in a project and how much to spend in order to get the expected revenue.

The distribution company, The Orchard, was founded by Scott Cohen and Richard Gottehrer in June of 1997. After 15 years of successful work, there are company offices in 25 countries; The Orchard's catalogue contains more than three million songs. "There are endless options for a triumphant business model," says Cohen, "and if you cannot think of anything more interesting than the release of one album per year, then you urgently need to change something in your thought-process." What exactly must be changed and in what direction, we learned on Monday evening in Digital October's conference hall.

speakers

100000000000000043522251 show Sonya
Sokolova
Moderator, editor and co-founder of the first Russian music site Zvuki.ru. Internet-producer, music journalist
100000000000000532396355 show Alexander
Khudoley
Commercial Director of RuTube
100000000000000835321620 show Alexander
Menn
Chairman of the board of Soyuz Group Concern
100000000000001591815273 show Sergey
Timoshov
Art Director of Propaganda nightclub
100000000000003567650102 show Alexey
Ugrinovich
CEO of Dolby CIS LLC

photo gallery

all photos of event

General Partner

Russian Venture Company

Intellectual Partner

Rostelecom

Official photopartner

Give Smiles

Media partners

NETOLOGY
Association of Cultural Managers
GreenfieldProject
StartupAfisha
Zvuki.ru
FLACON
Russian State University for the Humanities
CAREERLAB

Educational partner

RMA

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

Blockchain Weekend курс Blockchain Weekend

двухдневный образовательный курс по блокчейну

PgConf.Russia 2017 конференция PgConf.Russia 2017

конференция об одной самых распространенных систем управления базами данных PostgreSQL

Biotech Weekend курс Biotech Weekend

двухдневный образовательный курс по биотехнологиям

Скотт Коэн. Мировая известность: недорого, качественно, не спам

Important
13 февраля 2012, 20:00 лекция

трансляция мероприятия

Международный образовательный проект Knowledge Stream представляет дистанционную лекцию Скотта Коэна – соучредителя The Orchard, одной из крупнейших в мире компаний по продаже цифрового контента. Выступление Коэна на тему "Мировая известность: недорого, качественно, не спам" стало продолжением дискуссии о будущем коммуникации.

13 февраля Скотт Коэн, профессор London Metropolitan University  и член Совета British Phonographic Industry, рассказал о том, как правильно использовать новые медиа, чтобы заинтересовать своими проектами широкую аудиторию. В конференц-зале центра Digital October уже не в первый раз прозвучали доказательства того, что бизнес XXI века изменил свою парадигму под влиянием технологического прогресса. В качестве примера Коэн рассмотрел путь к славе известных представителей музыкальной индустрии, например, Леди Гага. Скотт сделал акцент на практической составляющей: в результате стало понятно, сколько денег следует вложить в проект и как их тратить, чтобы получить ожидаемую прибыль.

Дистрибьюторская компания The Orchard была основана Скоттом Коэном и Ричардом Готтерером в июне 1997 года.  За 15 лет успешной работы представительства компании появились в 25 странах мира; каталог The Orchard насчитывает более трех миллионов песен. «Существует бесконечное множество вариантов создания триумфальной бизнес-модели, – говорит Коэн, – и если вы не можете придумать ничего более интересного, чем выпуск одного альбома в год, вам нужно срочно что-то менять в своем сознании». Что именно необходимо менять и в каком направлении, Скотт рассказал 13 февраля в конференц-зале Digital October.

Стенограмма лекции Скотта Коэна.

Спикеры

100000000000000043522251 show Соня
Соколова
Модератор, главный редактор и сооснователь первого российского музыкального сайта Zvuki.ru. Интернет-продюсер, музыкальный журналист
100000000000000532396355 show Александр
Худолей
Коммерческий директор RuTube
100000000000000835321620 show Александр
Менн
Председатель правления концерна "Группа "Союз""
100000000000001591815273 show Сергей
Тимошов
Арт-директор клуба "Пропаганда"
100000000000003567650102 show Алексей
Угринович
Генеральный директор «Долби Си-Ай-Эс»

Генеральный партнер

Российская венчурная компания

Интеллектуальный партнер

Ростелеком

Официальный фотопартнер

Дарим улыбки

Информационные партнеры

НЕТОЛОГИЯ
Ассоциация менеджеров культуры
GreenfieldProject
СтартапАфиша
Звуки.ру
FLACON
Российский государственный гуманитарный университет
CAREERLAB

Образовательный партнер

RMA

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com