Paul Steinhardt. Quasicrystal — Greetings from Outerspace

Important
February 21, 2012, 20:00 lecture

live

At the Digital October center, as part of the Knowledge Stream project and with support of Scientific American magazine, an extremely interesting lecture by Paul Steinhardt took place.  Paul Steinhardht is a Princeton professor of Theoretical Physics who coined the term "quasicrystal" and discovered the structure's extraterrestrial origin.

Professor Steinhardt told the audience about quasicrystals, an organizational form of matter, which had changed the traditional understanding about crystals.  Real models of quasicrystals are already flew to us: you could see them and even touch them! For the more daring attendees, Professor Steinhardt prepared a couple of tasks. So you could try to create a quasicrystal model with your own two hands.

Quasicrystals possess a symmetry unlike that of usual crystals with a periodic structure.  Although a theory pertaining to the existence of ordered but aperiodic structures had been described as early as the 1980s, the first naturally occurring quasicrystal was only discovered in 2009 in minerals collected from from the Koryak Plateau in the Chukotka region.  In the summer of 2011, Paul Steinhardt together with the Russian geologist Valery Kryachko and a mineralogist from Florence, Luca Bindi, made an expedition to Chukotka and extracted samples of minerals with quasicrystals and concluded  that this mineral was the remainder of a meteorite.

Paul Steinhardt is a professor of Theoretical Physics at Princeton University, he is a Fellow in the American Physical Society and a member of the National Academy of Sciences as well as the recipient of the P.A.M. Dirac Medal and the Oliver Buckley Prize. Professor Steinhardt is best known for his work in theoretical cosmology and helped develop the theory of cosmic inflation, which explains the homogeneity and symmetry of the universe and the origin of the fluctuations that triggered the emergence of galaxies and the large-scale structure. Professor Steinhardt also works with condensed matter physics; recently he helped to develop a photonic quasicrystal for efficiently trapping and manipulating light in selected wavebands. A full biography of Professor Steinhardt in English can be read at Princeton website.

speakers

100000000000002965712246 show Vadim
Urusov
PhD in Chemical Sciences, academician at the Russian Academy of Sciences, Head of the Department of Crystallography and Crystal Chemistry of the Geological Faculty at Moscow State University
100000000000001957192818 show Valery
Kryachko
Geologist, who accompanied Paul Steinhardt on his expedition to Chukotka
100000000000001429118461 show Yuri
Vekilov
Professor, Head of Department of Theoretical Physics at Moscow State Institute of Steel and Alloys
100000000000003919831027 show Sergei
Petukhov
PhD in Physics and Mathematical Sciences, PhD in Biology, Director of the Laboratory of Biomechanical Systems at the Institute of Mechanical Engineering at the Russian Academy of Sciences
100000000000001782923046 show Vladimir
Reshetov
Moderator, scientific observer of Scientific American magazine
100000000000000342525672 show Dmitry
Strebkov
Academician at the Russian Academy of Agricultural Sciences and at the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, professor, PhD in Technology Sciences

photo gallery

all photos of event

General partner

Rostelecom

Intellectual partner

Russian Venture Company

Program partner

Scientific American

Official photopartner

Give Smiles

Media partners

New Scientist
S&T RF
Moskva.fm
MISiS
Begin Group
Moscow Business School
KINOTE
NETOLOGY
StartupAfisha
MBAConsult

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

Digital Branding. Best Cases 2017 конференция Digital Branding. Best Cases 2017

Главное отраслевое событие диджитал маркетинга

Agile Business Conference конференция Agile Business Conference

Поговорим о том, как меняются ведущие компании благодаря применению в гибких подходов

MBLTdev 2017 конференция MBLTdev 2017

ежегодная конференция мобильных разработчиков MBLTdev 2017

Пол Стейнхардт. Квазикристалл — привет из космоса

Important
21 февраля 2012, 20:00 лекция

трансляция мероприятия

В центре Digital October в рамках проекта Knowledge Stream  при поддержке журнала «В мире науки» (Scientific American) состоялась увлекательная лекция Пола Стейнхардта – принстонского профессора теоретической физики, который придумал термин «квазикристалл» и обнаружил внеземное происхождение этой структуры.

Профессор Стейнхардт рассказал аудитории о квазикристаллах — форме организации материи, изменившей традиционные представления о кристаллах. Настоящие модели квазикристаллов уже прилетели к нам: посетители лекции смогли увидеть их и даже потрогать! Самым смелым профессор Стейнхардт предложил собрать модель квазикристалла своими руками!

Квазикристаллы (см. статью "Википедии" "Квазикристаллы") обладают симметриями, которые не встречаются в обычных кристаллах с периодической структурой. Хотя теория существования упорядоченных, но непериодичных структур была описана еще в 1980-х, первый природный квазикристалл был обнаружен только в 2009 году в минералах с Корякского нагорья на Чукотке. Летом 2011 года Пол Стейнхардт вместе с российским геологом Валерием Крячко и минералогом из Флоренции Лукой Бинди предприняли экспедицию на Чукотку, добыли новые образцы минерала с квазикристаллами и пришли к выводу, что этот минерал является остатком метеорита.

Пол Стейнхардт – профессор теоретической физики в Принстонском университете, сотрудник Американского физического общества и член Национальной академии наук; лауреат Медали Дирака и Премии Оливера Бакли. Более всего профессор Стейнхардт известен своими работами в области теоретической космологии: ему принадлежит теория «раздутой Вселенной» (cosmic inflation), объясняющая однородность и симметрию вселенной и происхождение колебаний, спровоцировавших появление галактик и крупномасштабной структуры. Также профессор Стейнхардт занимается физикой конденсированного состояния; в последнее время он принимал участие в создании фотонного квазикристалла для эффективного улавливания и манипулирования светом в определенном диапазоне волн. Полную биографию профессора Стейнхардта на английском языке можно прочитать на сайте Принстона.

Стенограмма лекции Пола Стейнхардта.

Спикеры

100000000000002965712246 show Вадим
Урусов
Д.х.н., академик РАН, заведующий кафедрой кристаллографии и кристаллохимии Геологического факультета МГУ им. Ломоносова
100000000000001957192818 show Валерий
Крячко
Геолог, предпринявший вместе с Полом Стейнхардтом экспедицию на Чукотку
100000000000001429118461 show Юрий
Векилов
Профессор, заведующий кафедрой теоретической физики Московского государственного института стали и сплавов
100000000000003919831027 show Сергей
Петухов
Доктор физико-математических наук, кандидат биологических наук, заведующий лабораторией биомеханических систем Института машиноведения Российской академии наук
100000000000001782923046 show Владимир
Решетов
Модератор, научный обозреватель журнала «В мире науки»
100000000000000342525672 show Дмитрий
Стребков
Академик РАСХН, академик РАЕН, профессор, доктор технических наук

Генеральный партнер

Ростелеком

Интеллектуальный партнер

Российская венчурная компания

Программный партнер

Журнал "В мире науки"

Официальный фотопартнер

Дарим улыбки

Информационные партнеры

New Scientist
Наука и технологии РФ
Moskva.fm
НИТУ МИСиС
Begin Group
Moscow Business School
KINOTE
НЕТОЛОГИЯ
СтартапАфиша
MBAConsult

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com