Founder Institute: “It’s impossible to build a business only on Mondays”

Important
March 25, 2013, 19:00 presentation

On March 25 at the Digital October center another talk was held regarding the Founder Institute. Participants of the second info-session, conducted by the Moscow branch of the world’s largest start-up accelerator, learned about the format of the founders’ first educational program to be held in Russia and who will run it, while also receiving a number of bonuses from FI Moscow directors Maria Adamian and Peter Tatischev.

All session attendees will be able to take the online entrepreneurial aptitude test for free, the first step in the course.

All program students who send in their application for the accelerator by the end of April 1st will receive, courtesy FI Moscow, a free ticket to DEMO Europe,

a key start-up conference to be hosted by Digital October on June 3-4.

Why is the deadline so important?

“Founder Institute in the US is already its own brand. On the other hand, the Russian branch is operating so far on a so-called exploratory mode, meaning that we need to prove to those who established FI themselves, but most importantly to you, that the program will be in demand among entrepreneurs here in Russia.”

“We have access to statistics from all of the founders’ branches and learned, for example, that the parallel program opening in Jakarta has already created quite a stir. The entire history of the program has seen only one unsuccessful attempt made at opening a local accelerator: unfortunately, it was made by our neighbors in Ukraine.”

In order for FI Moscow to open in May as planned, we need to collect a minimum pool of applicants by April 2nd,

meaning that the project’s fate quite literally rests in the hands of Russian entrepreneurs who are interested in globalizing their ideas.

“However, this does not mean that the Russian accelerator might die off, having never even taken its first breath; at the least we will extend the application period and release the program in Fall 2013.”

How can I start being proud of my company?

“The Founder Institute in Russia as well as throughout the world has only one goal: to help local entrepreneurs create thriving and lucrative tech companies. People are looking for projects that can solve their every-day problems, not just another clone of what we already have. You know, not the kind of company you’re embarrassed to talk about when people ask you what you do.”

In the three plus years of the program’s existence its graduates have founded and cofounded more than 700 start-ups, the most famous of which are Udemy, Zirtual and Getable.

Of these, statistics show that 90% are still in operation.

“Of course, the creator of the Founder Institute and thefunded.com Adeo Ressi exaggerates somewhat in saying that the mortality rate of companies in the venture market is 99%, while 90% of FI companies survive. The 99% of companies that don’t make it are those that don’t file for an IPO. As far as we know, no FI projects have tried to go public; however, and most importantly, 75% of them have succeeded in building profitable businesses and 42% have attracted investors shortly after opening, often with the help of FI.”

However, just like anything worthwhile, the program isn’t free: the cost of a four-month course is the same throughout the world, standing at $950. That amount covers operational expenditures, included testing, property overheads and the cost of bringing in foreign mentors to the lectures. The money is paid directly to the American FI; local organizers see only a small fraction that goes toward coffee breaks for participants.

“What do you get for that money? Participants can expect 15 weekly sessions with a mentor, held at the beginning of each program week. We also expect that you will spend 20 hours on independent work after the session, as it’s impossible to build a business only on Mondays! That amount of time will be enough to begin creating the company of your dreams, combining your personal work with your day job at first.”

“Most importantly, the course will be built around the project: we will teach you how to write a business plan,

but when you finish the program you will also have a market entry, growth and team plan, along with, possibly, the first version of your product.

“We will also talk about a touchy subject at start-up hangouts, though one your business can’t do without: the legal aspects of your business, bookkeeping… This is what differentiates FI: our structured program. The creators of the course spoke at length with entrepreneurs and experts from around the world in order to understand what needs to be said the most.”

“The course begins by looking for the idea that will allow your business to do more than simply survive. If you don’t have that idea, but still want to begin, that’s also great. You may think up something in the course of the lessons, join forces with somebody or simply steal an idea. Even if your first project doesn’t take off you will still have what will help you the most: your connection to FI’s global network of contacts.”

“Our contacts are your contacts”

“Founder Institute provides a wide network of contacts throughout the world, including not simply business trainers, but active entrepreneurs and experts. Digital October, for instance, uniquely attracts experts and entrepreneurs from across Russia.”

“You are welcome to exploit our contacts. For example, at TechCrunch Moscow there were 100 investors, each of whom we know personally. There is also DO’s Venture Club, a monthly informal gathering of investors. We can invite absolutely anyone, but throughout the program you will choose one to your liking.”

“We already know 16 out of the 25-30 mentors who will run the Moscow course. Representing the non-entrepreneurs will be representatives of the Moscow branches of PWC and Orrick, although even those companies work with start-ups. Interestingly, a few of them have written us on their own, including the entrepreneur nicknamed “The Pitch Doctor,” who runs a course in Germany. We are also willing to invite other international mentors once we see a need for their specialties among our group of participants. Let’s say that you are opening a flower delivery service – one of the creators of Dropbox won’t really be able to help you, although we could invite him.”

Investors will love it

“A necessary condition for graduates of the program is registering their company in the US, seeing as how FI is trying to create a global Silicon Valley,

and would like you to be officially registered and investor-ready as a result of the program.

You, as the founder, will have your head office in the US with a subsidiary in Russia. Not only will investors like the fact that you are registered in the US, you may not even need a Russian branch.”

“We are currently consulting with Russian and American specialists regarding registration details, and are also looking for a legal partner who could provide registration services cheaply or even for free.”

Everyone here is motivated, and that is why it’s called an accelerator

“Why is FI an accelerator? Every graduate puts 3.5% of his company’s shares into the main pot, meaning that our mentors have a financial interest in your success. Students themselves decide how many shares their teacher will receive.

Part of the pool is also shared by the students,

as they are encouraged not only to work on their own projects, but also to help their colleagues. Who knows, perhaps your benchmate will become a market leader!

“Incidentally, sharing some excess investment money with colleagues is also encouraged, though you don’t have to if you don’t think the course was helpful for you.”

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

Fuckup Nights Vol.XVII лекции Fuckup Nights Vol.XVII

истории о громких бизнес-неудачах, как уберечь компанию от краха

Azure Day Moscow 2018 конференция Azure Day Moscow 2018

ежегодная конференция, которую проводит сообщество Microsoft MVP

Waves Blockchain Hackathon хакатон Waves Blockchain Hackathon

Хакатон по блокчейну

Founder Institute: «Бизнес делают не по понедельникам»

Important
25 марта 2013, 19:00 информационная сессия

25 марта в центре Digital October вновь говорили о Founder Institute – на второй инфосессии от московского отделения крупнейшего в мире стартап-акселератора участники узнали, как будет построена первая образовательная программа «фаундеров» в России, кто будет ее вести, а также получили ряд бонусов от директоров столичного FI – Марии Адамян и Петра Татищева.

Те, кто пришел на мероприятие, смогут бесплатно пройти онлайн-тест на определение способностей к предпринимательству – первый этап при записи на курс.

А всем студентам программы, подавшим заявку в акселератор до 1-го апреля включительно, FI Moscow даст бесплатный билет на DEMO Europe –

одну из ключевых стартап-конференций, которая пройдет в Digital October 3-4 июня.

Дедлайн – почему это так важно?

«В тех же США Founder Institute – это уже бренд. А филиал в России работает пока в так называемом «exploratory-режиме» – это значит, что мы должны доказать основателям FI, самим себе и, в первую очередь – вам, что эта программа будет пользоваться спросом у отечественных предпринимателей».

«Мы имеем доступ к статистике по всем отделениям «фаундеров» и видим, например, что параллельно открывающаяся программа в Джакарте вызвала настоящий ажиотаж. Вообще, за всю историю программы был лишь один неудачный опыт запуска локального акселератора – к сожалению, у наших соседей, в Украине».

Чтобы FI Moscow открылся, как и планируется, в мае, ко 2 апреля должен набраться минимальный пул заявок, –

и судьба проекта буквально находится в руках российских предпринимателей, заинтересованных в глобализации своих идей.

Однако это не значит, что история акселератора в России может оборваться, так и не начавшись: в крайнем случае, прием заявок продлят, а программа запустится осенью 2013-го.

Как перестать «работать на дядю» и начать гордиться своим делом?

«Цель Founder Institute в России и мире – одна. Мы хотим помочь локальным предпринимателям создать по-настоящему классные и коммерчески успешные технологические компании. Люди хотят видеть проекты, которые решают их проблемы, и не хотят видеть очередной клон чего-нибудь. Знаете, явно не такую компанию, о которой вам самим будет стыдно рассказывать, когда вас спросят «А чем ты занимаешься на работе?».

За три с небольшим года существования программы ее окончили основатели и сооснователи 700 с лишним стартапов, наибольшую известность из которых имеют Udemy, Zirtual и Getable.

Пpи этом, как показывает статистика, 90% выпускников продолжают работать.

«Конечно, основатель Founder Institute и TheFunded.com Адео Ресси немного кривит душой, говоря: посмотрите, на венчурном рынке «смертность» компаний составляет 99%, а у нас 90 процентов – выживают. 99% «погибших» компаний – это те, кто не дошел до этапа IPO. Насколько мы знаем, из выпускников FI на биржу пока не собрался никто, но важно, что 75% из них сумели построить окупаемые бизнесы, а 42% – привлечь инвестиции вскоре после окончания курса, и часто – не без поддержки FI».

Но как и почти все хорошее в мире, программа не бесплатна. Стоимость четырехмесячного курса едина по всему миру и составляет $950: эта сумма с участника позволяет покрыть операционные расходы, включающие тестирование, аренду помещений для занятий и проч. Эти деньги платятся напрямую американскому FI: локальные организаторы видят лишь небольшую их часть, идущую на оплату кофе-брейков для слушателей.

«Что вы получите за эти деньги? Участников ждут 15 сессий с менторам – по одной в начале каждой недели обучения. Мы также ожидаем, что вы потратите еще минимум 20 часов на самостоятельную работу после сессии – ведь нельзя же строить бизнес только по понедельникам! В то же время, этого времени будет достаточно, чтобы начать создавать компанию мечты, совмещая на первых порах открытие собственного дела с работой «на дядю».

«Что важно, курс строится вокруг проектов: то есть мы не будем учить вас, как писать бизнес-планы,

но на выходе с программы у вас будут план выхода на рынок и масштабирования, команда и, возможно, даже первая версия продукта.

Мы также будем говорить о том, о чем не любят говорить на стартап-тусовках, но без чего бизнес работать не может: юридических аспектах, бухгалтерии… Это и отличает FI – структурированность программы. Создатели курса долго общались с предпринимателями и экспертами со всего света, чтобы понять, о чем действительно важно рассказывать».

«А начнется курс с поиска идеи, которая позволит бизнесу не просто выживать. Если у вас нет идеи, но хочется чего-то начать – это тоже по-своему прекрасно. Можете «родить» ее в процессе обучения, присоединиться к кому-то, или попросту украсть. И даже если ваш первый проект не взлетит, у вас останется главное – вовлеченность в глобальную сеть контактов FI».

«Все наши контакты – ваши»

«Founder Institute располагает обширной сетью контактов по всему миру – и это не бизнес-тренеры, а действующие предприниматели и эксперты. А Digital October, в вою очередь, – это своеобразная точка притяжения для экспертов, предпринимателей и экспертов в России».

«И все наши контакты – тоже ваши. Скажем, на TechCrunch Moscow у нас было порядка 100 инвесторов, и всех мы знаем лично. А есть же еще Venture Club в DO – это ежемесячные неформальные собрания инвесторов. Мы можем пригласить абсолютно любого. Но программу вы должны выбрать не «по инвестору», а по душе».

«Сейчас уже известны 16 из 25-30 менторов, которые будут вести московский курс. Из «непредпринимателей» у нас будут представители московских отделений PWC и Orrick – но и эти компании работают со стартапами. Интересно, что некоторые пишут нам сами – скажем, предприниматель по прозвищу "The Pitch Doctor", он ведет курс в Германии; и мы готовы пригласить других международных менторов, если увидим потребность группы в их компетенциях. Ведь, скажем, если вы делаете сервис доставки цветов, то едва ли вам сильно поможет один из основателей Dropbox, хотя мы и можем его пригласить».

Это понравится инвесторам

«Обязательное условие для выпускников программы – регистрация компании в США, т.к.FI нацелен на глобализацию Кремниевой долины,

и хочет, чтобы по итогам обучения вы получили юридическое лицо, максимально готовое к дальнейшему получению инвестиций.

Владеть им будете вы, основатель: причем в Штатах регистрируется «головная» компания, а в России – дочерняя. То, что ваш бизнес имеет американскую «прописку», наверняка понравится потенциальному инвестору, а российское отделение вашему бизнесу, возможно, и не понадобится».

«Сейчас мы консультируемся по всем деталям оформления с российскими и американскими специалистами, а также ищем юридического партнера, который бы оказывал услуги по регистрации недорого или вообще бесплатно».

Здесь все мотивированы или Почему это акселератор?

«Почему FI – это именно акселератор? Каждый выпускник отдает 3.5% акций своей компании в «общий котел», – поэтому менторы здесь своим кошельком заинтересованы в вашем успехе. Сколько акций получит конкретный преподаватель, решают уже сами студенты.

Кстати, часть пула делится и между самим студентами:

так их подталкивают к тому, чтобы они занимались не только своим проектом, но и помогали коллегам – вдруг именно проект вашего «соседа по парте» со временем станет лидером рынка?»

«Кстати, хорошим тоном в FI считается поделиться небольшой частью привлеченных денег с коллегами, если ваш проект получил крупные инвестиции – но вы можете этого и не делать, если посчитаете, что курс оказалась для вас бесполезен».

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (495) 003–16–16
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com