Founder Institute Moscow Information Session

Important
December 20, 2013, 18:30 seminar

The idea for Founder Institute was born in the head of experienced entrepreneur Adeo Ressi (whose companies were acquired by corporations and put out on IPO, and who opened his first business together with Elon Musk) after numerous conversations with other entrepreneurs on the subject of how to help fledgling founders of tech companies transform their projects into large-scale businesses.

Over the past three years Ressi’s project has grown to quite a large scale itself; today, it is the largest accelerator in terms of number of startups represented, and works in regions that other accelerators have not dared to go (the Middle East, for example).

To be precise, FI is an accelerator for startup founders, offering a 4-month long

‘night school’ (including meetings with mentors and a substantial amount of independent work), during which students go through the entire process, from searching for a high-quality idea to transforming it into a product, proceeding from ready concept to a company’s first investments.

The Founder Institute’s global map includes 55 cities, and its international mentor network unites more than 2,500 experienced entrepreneurs, investors, experts, and consultants. Together, they have helped their students found 1,000 ‘dream companies’, 90% of which continue to exist to this day, employing 10,000 people.

This high success rate amongst young projects is achieved via the high quality of the founders themselves: admission to the Founder Institute is determined by the results of an entrance exam, the contents of which are a highly guarded secret. Usually, only one tenth of test-takers receive a passing grade – nevertheless, passing the test with a score of 86% or higher is a good predictor of your future success as an entrepreneur. The second hurdle is built into the training process itself: usually, 40% of enrollees are able to handle the semester’s workload. That’s why the course is constructed such that students are not forced to quit their main source of employment to participate.

On December 13th, Founder Institute Moscow began a new round of admissions for the idea accelerator. Judging by its first session,

this filial has become one of the most successful in the world:

all of the projects launched under the guidance of the company’s 40 mentors are still in operation. The second round of courses will begin in February of 2014. Meanwhile, applications will continue to be accepted for the next month and a half. The admissions process will be accompanied by a series of information sessions.

On December 20th, the directors of FI Moscow, Digital October Center curators Peter Tatischev and Maria Adamian told the audience:

  • how to pass the entrance exam for the Founder Institute (without paying for it),
  • the tools and networking opportunities that FI offers to entrepreneurs,
  • how the training process works and how the program was perfected,
  • about the mentors, program dates, and other details on the new semester,
  • and what your $950 training fee covers.

 

One of the driving forces behind the growth of Founder Institute is the fact that its branch organizations are created by experienced entrepreneurs and representatives of infrastructure projects in the local community. They understand the kinds of complications that tech entrepreneurs are met with when launching new projects and making a name for themselves on the local and international markets, and they know how to deal with them, and how to attract specialists with high levels of expertise and a strong desire to help to their classes.

Peter Tatischev has launched several of his own successful (and not-so-successful) projects, worked freelance for different tech companies, and acted as one of the co-founders of the GreenfieldProject (which organizes Harvest working weekends, Feedback mini-conferences, and #poSEEDelki meetings) and the first director of the InCube business incubator. Today, he produces the first European startup conferences under the auspices of DEMO and SVMR at the Digital October Center.

Maria Adamian specialized in grant programs for the Russian-American Economic Collaboration Foundation and business development for the US-Russia Center for Entrepreneurship. She acted as the head of the HSE{inc} incubator, launched the ‘Iron Entrepreneur’ competition in Russia, and has organized all of the Russian TechCrunch conferences, as well as a number of other major international tech events in Moscow, including Landing Page.

Both of the directors of FI Moscow have graduated from international business programs: Peter studied at Cambridge, while Maria went to school in Seattle.

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

Fuckup Nights Vol.XVII лекции Fuckup Nights Vol.XVII

истории о громких бизнес-неудачах, как уберечь компанию от краха

Azure Day Moscow 2018 конференция Azure Day Moscow 2018

ежегодная конференция, которую проводит сообщество Microsoft MVP

Waves Blockchain Hackathon хакатон Waves Blockchain Hackathon

Хакатон по блокчейну

FI Moscow II: информация для предпринимателей

Important
20 декабря 2013, 18:30 семинар

Founder Institute был придуман опытным предпринимателем Адео Ресси (его компании покупались корпорациями и выходили на IPO, а первый бизнес он открыл с Элом Маском) по итогам общения с другими предпринимателями, чтобы… помочь начинающим основателям технологических компаний строить масштабируемые бизнесы.

За три с небольшим года проект Ресси и сам неплохо масштабировался – сегодня это крупнейший акселератор по числу представленных в нем стартапов, работающий, в том числе, там, куда не решились пойти другие (например, в арабских странах).

Точнее, FI – это акселератор для основателей стартапов, за 4 месяца предлагающий

в формате «вечерней школы» (встречи с менторами плюс большая самостоятельная работа) пройти путь от поиска качественной идеи до ее оформления в продукт от готовой к первым инвестициям компании.

География Founder Institute насчитывает 55 городов, глобальная менторская сеть объединяет свыше 2500 опытных предпринимателей, инвесторов, экспертов и консультантов. Вместе они помогли слушателям основать 1000 «компаний мечты» – 90% из них продолжают существовать и обеспечивают работой 10000 человек.

Такой высокий процент выживаемости среди молодых проектов достигается, в том числе, качеством самих основателей – зачисление в Founder Institute проводится по итогам вступительного теста, который держится в большом секрете. Обычно, пройти его на должном уровне получается лишь у каждого десятого – но зато тестирование с 86-процентной точностью позволяет предугадать успешность вас как предпринимателя. Второй фильтр встроен уже в сам образовательный процесс – обычно с требованиями справляются 40% зачисленных на семестр, поэтому обучение построено так, чтобы человеку не требовалось бросать основную работу.

13 декабря стартовал новый набор в акселератор идей Founder Institute Moscow. По итогам первого выпуска,

это отделение стало одним из самых успешных в мире:

все запущенные при участии 40 менторов компании продолжают работать. Занятия для второго потока начнутся в феврале 2014-го. А в ближайшие полтора месяца будет идти прием заявок на обучение, который будет сопровождаться рядом информационных встреч.

20 декабря директора FI Moscow, кураторы центра Digital October Петр Татищев и Мария Адамян рассказали:

  • как пройти вступительный тест в Founder Institute (и не платить за него),
  • об инструментах и нетворкинговых возможностях для предпринимателей, которые дает FI,
  • о том, как будет устроено обучение – программа была усовершенствована,
  • а также о менторах, датах проведения и других моментах нового семестра,
  • на что идут $950, которые слушатель платит за обучение.

 

Кстати, одним из драйверов роста отделений Founder Institute стал тот факт, что его филиалы создают опытные предприниматели и представители инфраструктурных проектов «из местных». Они понимают, с какими трудностями сталкиваются технологические предприниматели при запуске проектов и выходе на местный и глобальный рынки, умеют их решать, а также умеют привлекать к занятиям специалистов с сильной экспертизой и большим желанием помогать.

Петр Татищев успел запустить несколько собственных успешных и не очень проектов, поработать в технологических компаниях «в найме», стать одним из основателей инфраструктурного проекта GreenfieldProject (рабочие выходные Harvest, мини-конференции Feedback, встречи #poSEEDelki) и первым директором бизнес-инкубатора InCube. Сегодня он продюсирует первые европейские стартап-конференции под брендами DEMO  и SVMR в центре Digital October.

 

 

Мария Адамян занималась грантовыми программами ФРАЭК и развитием бизнеса Центра предпринимательства США-Россия, возглавляла инкубатор HSE{inc}, запускала конкурс «Железный предприниматель» в России, организовывала все российские конференции под брендом TechCrunch, а также ряд других крупных международных технологических событий в Москве – Landing Page в их числе.

 

Оба директора FI Moscow также оканчивали бизнес-программы за рубежом: Петр – в Кембридже, Мария – в Сиэтле.

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com