Two Things You Should Know About The Founder Institute

Important
February 3, 2014, 23:59

In February of 2014, classes for future tech company founders will begin once more at the Digital October Center. These classes represent the second generation of students at the Moscow branch of Founder Institute, the Silicon Valley-based training program.

These are people who understand that a high school student who sells his project to a corporation and young CEO who makes a successful exit after a couple of years are exceptions to the rule, albeit successful ones, and that ‘life in the Valley’ doesn’t have to end at 30.

The first FI project opened its doors three years ago in California, and today, analogous accelerators have been founded in 55 cities all around the world, designed to help people who are ready to start their own businesses and hope to find or develop their own idea with the help of experienced mentors. Of the thousand companies that have been launched over the course of the training process (including, for example, Uderny), almost 90% are still in business.

“Here, we help people to build productive businesses, which is to say, businesses that will transfer easily onto a large scale. And, more importantly, stable businesses that are capable of sustaining themselves,” says FI Moscow’s co-director, Peter Tatischev. “What sets Founder Institute apart is its enormous network of mentors (with a ratio of 2:1; we have 2,500 experienced entrepreneurs, investors, and industry consultants for our 1,000 graduates) and strong partnerships. There are already talks underway that would allow our American graduates to get onto TechStars with special conditions.

Founder Institute ensures the high success rate of its graduates’ companies

through the content of its 4-month-long course. When we kicked off our first semester in Moscow, we ourselves didn’t think that it would be possible to do so much in so little time. But upon graduation, our students had:

  • an idea that had already been tested by a large group of people with a history of success in the industry (the 40 mentors of the Russian FI filial),
  • a business model and an understanding of where to go next,
  • a basic version of their product and the preliminary numbers to go along with it (The students were constantly working with the market. For example, as one of their assignments, they created a landing page and learned how to attract traffic and keep tabs on conversion),
  • a team (some of our students simply hopped on board their classmates’ projects),
  • and a company that was ready for its first investments and already registered in the United States.”

 

This last point prompted some audience questions at a meeting with the directors and mentors of Founder Institute Moscow on December 13th, though official registration in the States is crucial for various reasons, including the fact that it confirms our students’ dedication.

Bayram Annakov, CEO of Empatika, recent winner of the PayPal BattleHack global hackathon, and FI Moscow mentor with two international mobile businesses to his name, explains the situation:

“Your business wasn’t established in Delaware? Funds won’t give you the time of day.

And if your project has even the slightest intentions of going global, you have to understand: it’s difficult to take over the international market when your only investors are Russian. That’s one thing.

Secondly, it’s a universal rule that you have to be in with the crowd. You get to the Valley, and the first problem you run into is the fact that you’re from Russia, your project is in Russia; no one’s really going to want to do business with you, believe me. It’s hard to get in with a good fund, for example – only a few of them openly advertise the fact that they only associate with entrepreneurs from their own ‘network’, but the fact is that many of them do.

I didn’t study at the Founder Institute; I was a mentor from the get-go, but I see things clearly: it gives you connections at tech hubs all over the world. These contacts, and experience in a jurisdiction that’s familiar to your investors –

That’s two reasons why it’s definitely worth your while to play on the same team as FI.”

“Having a company in the US is a positive thing because it allows you to attract private money without any problems,” Peter continues. “And as for connections: say you want to break into the New York startup game. If you write to an FI graduate in the city, you can be sure he’ll try to help you out. And now, onto:

The Results of the First Round of FI Moscow

How to Get In

How to Study

How to Leave

Three More Advantages Offered by FI

Ask a Question

 

The Results of the First Round of FI Moscow

“We announced the launch of a Founder Institute branch in Moscow at the end of February 2013, and classes began in May. Over the two-month long admissions process, we received about 150 applications, out of which 38 candidates were recommended for the program. The final decisions are made at FI headquarters. To be precise, the results of the entrance exam are personally reviewed by Adeo Ressi, the accelerator’s CEO and founder of TheFunded, along with other projects collectively valued at $2 billion.

We knew that there were likely to be dropouts; we figured that around 8-10 people would leave, not more. At the end of the day, things turned out like this:

13 founders and the 11 companies they founded: as it turns out, we had some of the best results

in the entire FI network. The program requires a great deal of effort. By the way, all of these companies are still in operation: in other words, if the Founder Institute has, on average, a success rate of 90%, our rate is 100%. We stay in contact with our graduates and see that some of them are already in a good position to attract investors.”

Here, you can find out more about the first Russian FI graduates training experiences.

How to Get In

“At Founder Institute, we don’t evaluate the idea that you come to us with; we evaluate you yourself. To enroll, you must register on the FI.co site (choose Moscow from the list of cities) and take a test that will be sent to you to determine your potential as an entrepreneur. Though the program itself requires that you know English, it’s best to answer these questions in your native language.

As Adeo Ressi said at TechCrunch Moscow, this survey has an 86% success rate for predicting whether or not you will grow into a successful ‘founder’. To calibrate the test, a number of established entrepreneurs were offered the chance to take it just for fun:

Elon Musk scored a 4.1 out of 5, and the best result

anyone has ever gotten is a 4.2.

If you’ve ever taken an IQ test, you’ll find that this process is somewhat similar: you won’t be asked to calculate market formulas, but rather, you will be given an hour and a half to complete a series of tasks to measure your inherent business potential using a number of different parameters.

You will receive a single score based on your answers. We know that the minimum score necessary for enrollment is a two. But we won’t know your exact score. And you, either fortunately or unfortunately, won’t either.”

How to Study

“This is a for-profit program, and comes with a cost of $950. This fee includes all course materials, as well as the travel expenses of international mentors, should you need them.

When you arrive at FI, we assume that you’re here because you’ve decided to found a business that will turn a profit, not to give away your last dime, to try your luck. Also, you have to know English from the get-go.

This training program includes 14 information sessions/mentor meetings, which take place on a weekly basis. They are divided into three stages. During the first stage, you will work on searching out your idea.

Afterwards, you will concentrate on the key practical aspects of building a business:

positioning your product, as well as legal and HR issues…To complete the second step and move on to the next one, you will need to register your company. We will pitch in and help you to find lawyers.

At the same time, you will spend time with your classmates, discuss your ideas with one another, and will also have the opportunity to receive individual consultations during ‘office hours’. First and foremost, the program demands 20+ hours per week of independent work on the part of our students.

Students who complete their training will give, in addition to a previously agreed upon amount, a 3.5% share of their companies to the FI ‘pot’: this pot is to be shared amongst organizers, mentors, and the classmates of your choice.”

How to Leave

“If, after the first mentor information session and the first class, you decide that the program isn’t for you, you can get your money back over the course of the first week.

If, at a later date, you realize that you aren’t ready to see the course through to the end (if, for example, you aren’t ready to leave your current job, or if you don’t have the time to finish developing your project), you can return to the training program for free in the next semester.

Remember: weeding out is an ongoing process.”

Three More Advantages Offered by FI

1. “You don’t have to quit your current job in order to find out whether or not you’re ready to lead the entrepreneurial lifestyle. Work for a couple of months with an increased workload in order to determine what you’re capable of. We’ve had examples of the opposite phenomenon, as well: people have realized that they were right not to leave their corporations as they’re not ready to put all of their time and energy into developing their own idea right now.”

2. “Even if the idea that you came in with doesn’t end up working out, you will still leave here with a good foundation: a base of knowledge and contacts that you will be able to draw on forever.

We don’t accelerate projects, we accelerate entrepreneurs.

A few of our students who have decided to leave after the second stage (when most of the primary groundwork has already been laid) were motivated by just this reasoning: ‘The most important thing is that I now understand where I have to start from.’”

3. “If you see a promising market, the training that you get at FI will help you to put together your own personal check-list on the road towards building a business. By working in close contact with mentors both during and after the program, you are less likely to make decisions you’ll later come to regret.”

The Next Meeting with the ‘Founders’

You can pose any questions you might have to the directors of FI Moscow at the Digital October Center on the evening of January 30th.

All you need to do is complete this free registration.

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

Международная конференция и выставка ЦОД-2016 конференция Международная конференция и выставка ЦОД-2016

конференция по инфраструктуре ЦОД

Agile Business Conference Конференция Agile Business Conference

гибкие подходы в управлении в различных сферах бизнеса

Эффективный бизнесмен Мастер-класс Эффективный бизнесмен

мастер-класс о бизнес-эффективности

Две вещи, которые стоит знать о Founder Institute

Important
3 февраля 2014, 23:59

Набор заканчивается в это воскресенье!

 

В феврале 2014-го в центре Digital October вновь стартуют занятия для будущих основателей технологических компаний – второго набора московского подразделения «кремниевой» образовательной программы Founder Institute. Тех, кто понимает, что школьник, продавший проект корпорации, и успешный exit за пару лет – это удачные, но исключения, и «жизнь в Долине» не заканчивается к 30 годам.

Первое отделение FI открылось три года назад в Калифорнии, а сегодня аналогичные акселераторы для людей, созревших к открытию своего бизнеса и желающих при помощи опытных менторов найти или протестировать имеющуюся идею, функционируют еще в 54 городах по всему миру. Из тысячи компаний, запущенных в ходе обучения (среди них, например, Udemy), почти 90% продолжают свою работу.

«Здесь помогают строить продуктовые, то есть легко масштабируемые бизнесы. Что очень важно, бизнесы стабильные, способные поддерживать себя, – рассказывает со-директор FI Moscow Петр Татищев. – Что отличает Founder Institute, так это огромная менторская сеть (соотношение 2 к 1: на тысячу выпускников приходится 2500 опытных предпринимателей, инвесторов, отраслевых консультантов) и сильные партнерства – так, уже идет речь о том, что американские выпускники смогут попасть в TechStars на особых условиях.

Кроме того,

высокий уровень выживаемости компаний своих выпускников

Founder Institute обеспечивает тем, что закладывается в ходе 4-месячного курса. Когда мы открывали первый семестр в Москве, то сами не предполагали, что за этот срок можно успеть так много. Но на выходе у слушателей были:

  • идея, проверенная большим количеством людей, уже чего-то добившихся в индустрии – 40 менторами российского отделения,
  • бизнес-модель и понимание, куда двигаться дальше,
  • базовая версия продукта и первые цифры по нему – все время они работали с рынком; например, в рамках одного из заданий создали landing page, учились привлекать трафик и смотреть конверсию,
  • команда – некоторые просто присоединялись к проектам сокурсников,
  • и компания, подготовленная к первым инвестициям и зарегистрированная в США».

 

Последний пункт вызывает у аудитории вопросы на встрече с директорами и менторами Founder Institute Moscow 13 декабря. Хотя регистрация юридического лица в Штатах нужна, в том числе, чтобы подтвердить мотивацию слушателя.

Ситуацию разъясняет ментор FI Moscow, строящий два международных мобильных бизнеса, и недавний победитель глобального хакатона PayPal Байрам Аннаков (CEO Empatika):

«Ваш бизнес не структурирован в Делавере? Фонды даже не заговорят с вами.

А если ваш проект хоть немного претендует на международность, вы понимаете: сложно рассчитывать на захват глобального рынка, имея только российского инвестора. Это раз.

Во-вторых, как и везде, вы должны быть вхожи в тусовку. Вот приезжаете вы в Долину, и первая проблема, с которой сталкиваетесь – вы из России, ваш проект в России; с вами особо не захотят иметь дело, поверьте. Трудно, например, зайти в хороший фонд – лишь немногие открыто заявляют, что общаются только с предпринимателями из своего «нетворка», но по факту многие именно так и поступают.

Я не оканчивал Founder Institute, сразу стал ментором, но вижу: он дает вам связи в технологических хабах всего мира. Контакты и работа в понятной инвесторам юрисдикции –

две причины, почему точно стоит «играть в одну игру» с FI».

 

«Компания в США хороша тем, что позволит без проблем привлекать частные деньги, – продолжает Петр. – А что касается связей: скажем, вы хотите выйти на стартап-сообщество Нью-Йорка – напишите выпускнику FI в этом городе и будьте уверены, он постарается помочь. Ну а теперь о:

Итогах первого выпуска FI Moscow

Как попасть

Как учиться

Как уйти

Еще три плюса FI

Задать вопрос

 

Итоги первого выпуска FI Moscow

«О запуске отделения Founder Institute в Москве мы объявили конце февраля 2013-го, занятия стартовали в мае. За два месяца приемной кампании мы получили полторы сотни заявок, 38 кандидатов были рекомендованы на программу – итоговое решение принимается в штаб-квартире FI, в частности, на результаты вступительных тестов смотрит CEO акселератора, основатель TheFunded и других проектов общей стоимостью в $2 млрд. Адео Ресси.

Мы знали, что отсев по ходу будет; думали, что «отвалятся» человек 8-10, не больше. В итоге получилось так:

13 основателей и 11 их компаний – оказалось, это один из лучших результатов

для всего FI. Программа требует очень больших усилий. Кстати, все эти компании работают: т.е. если в среднем по Founder Institute «выживают» 90 процентов проектов, наш результат – 100%. Мы продолжаем общаться с выпускниками, видим, что некоторые уже вполне в состоянии заинтересовать инвесторов».

Узнать подробнее о первых российских выпускниках FI и их опыте обучения.

 

Как попасть

«В Founder Institute не оценивают идею, с которой вы приходите: оценивают вас самих. Чтобы поступить, вам нужно зарегистрироваться на сайте FI.co (выберите Москву в списке городов) и как можно лучше выполнить тест на определение способностей к предпринимательству, который вам вышлют. Хотя сама программа требует знания английского, отвечать на вопросы лучше на родном языке.

Как рассказывал Адео Ресси на TechCrunch Moscow, такой опросник помогает с 86-процентной вероятностью определить, вырастет ли из вас успешный «фаундер». Чтобы откалибровать этот тест, его предлагали ради интереса пройти многим состоявшимся предпринимателям:

Элон Маск набрал 4.1 из 5, а лучший результат,

который вообще когда-либо был показан, составляет 4.2.

Если вы когда-либо проходили тест на определение IQ, то это в чем-то похоже: вас не просят считать рыночные формулы, но предлагают за час-полтора выполнить задания, которые позволят по ряду параметров оценить, насколько успешным вы можете быть в бизнесе благодаря врожденным качествам.

По результатам ваших ответов и формируется единая оценка. Мы знаем, что минимум, который нужно набрать для поступления, составляет от 2 баллов. Но сами мы не будем знать ваш балл. Вы, к сожалению или счастью, тоже».

 

Как учиться

«Программа платная и стоит $950 – сюда входят все учебные материалы, а также привоз иностранных менторов, если они вам потребуются.

Когда вы приходите в FI, здесь рассчитывают, что вы решили для себя делать бизнес, который будет приносить прибыль, а не отдаете последнюю рубашку, чтобы попытать счастья. Также вам изначально потребуется знать английский.

Обучение включает 14 информационных сессий – встреч с менторами раз в неделю. Они разбиты на три блока. В рамках первого этапа вы работаете над поиском и упаковкой идеи.

Затем концентрируетесь на важных аспектах построения бизнеса:

управлении продуктом, юридических, кадровых вопросах… Для завершения второго блока и перехода к следующему как раз и требуется регистрация компании: мы подключимся, поможем найти юристов.

Параллельно вы будете общаться со своими сокурсниками, консультировать друг друга по идеям, а также сможете получать индивидуальные консультации в т.н. «офисные часы». Основное, чего потребует программа – тратить от 20 часов в неделю на самостоятельную работу над проектом.

Те, кто пройдет обучение до конца, помимо заранее установленной суммы отдадут долю в 3,5% в компании в «общий котел» FI: она будет распределена между организаторами, менторами и вашими соучениками, которых вы выберете сами. Можно от этого и отказать, наверное, но тогда доступ к менторской сети FI точно будет для вас закрыт».

 

Как уйти

«Если после первой информационной сессии с менторами и первого задания вы решите, что это не ваше: с уходом в первую неделю можно вернуть деньги.

Если на более позднем этапе вы поймете, что пока не готовы идти до конца – например, увольняться с основной работы, ну или времени на доработку идеи сейчас не хватает, вы сможете бесплатно вернуться к обучению в следующем семестре.

Помните: отсев идет постоянно».

 

Еще три плюса FI

1. «Чтобы понять, готовы ли вы к жизни предпринимателя, не нужно увольняться с текущей работы. Поработайте пару месяцев в режиме повышенной нагрузки, чтобы понять, на что вы способны. У нас были и обратные примеры: люди понимали, что правильно не ушли из условного «Газпрома», т.к. сейчас не готовы отдавать развитию проекта все время и силы».

2. «Даже если та идея, с которой вы пришли, не выстрелит, вы получите хороший фундамент: знания и контакты, которые можно использовать всегда.

Мы не готовим проекты – мы готовим предпринимателей.

Несколько слушателей, решивших уйти после второго этапа, когда основная подготовка закончена, так и мотивировали это: «Главное, я понял, с чего нужно начинать».

3. «Если вы видите классный рынок, обучение в FI помогает составить свой чек-лист на пути к построению бизнеса. Работая в тесном контакте с менторами во время и после программы, вы с меньшей вероятностью сделаете шаг, о котором потом будете жалеть».

 

Следующая встреча с «фаундерами»

Задать свои вопросы по программе директорам FI Moscow вы сможете уже вечером 30 января в центре Digital October.

Все, что требуется для участия, – бесплатная регистрация.

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com