DEMO Europe: Michael McFaul on the Influence of IT on Politics

Important
June 4, 2013, 10:00 keynote

On June 4 the United States Ambassador to Russia spoke during the first European DEMO conference being held at the Digital October Center.

“Many of you probably asked yourselves, ‘And why did they invite him to speak at DEMO?’” began McFaul. “It’s all because I lived in the Silicon Valley for thirty years, and when my ambassadorial mission finishes I plan to go back there.

“As you can understand, I know something about the Valley. For example, about its spirit, which is above any politics. But one thing I didn’t know even a year ago was what Twitter is, although, it turns out, my house in US is right next to their headquarters.

“Today I have 50000 followers on Twitter to go along with 4999 friends and 7000 subscribers on Facebook. Of course, I knew about Zuckerberg and his project earlier, and I had around 200 contacts in that social network, but got to know that you can’t have more than 5000 friends on Facebook only when I started to work as an ambassador in Russia.

“And that’s the point of no return: even conservative politicians can’t ignore the development of technological progress.

Social networks are a great tool for getting feedback from society. Of course, in order to talk with Russians you may take a ride on the Trans-Siberian Railway. But new communication platforms are more effective, actually.

“Mr. McFaul, I follow you on Twitter,” said a DEMO participant to the ambassador. “Will you follow me too? My twitter name is ‘Kkarimov.’”

“Oh, I already know one Karimov — the president of Uzbekistan. No problem!”

“Going back to my speech, I would like to note one more thing. Creative people should learn from each other and share their experiences. Partnership in the area of innovation is an important aspect of our work (take MIT and Skolkovo collaborating, for example), and we will appeal to Russia to give complete freedom to those who are making something creative. Thank you.”

speakers

603 show Michael
McFaul
United Stated Ambassador to Russian Federation

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

Fuckup Nights Moscow Vol. XI лекция Fuckup Nights Moscow Vol. XI

послушайте яркие истории факапов в бизнесе

Блокчейн для бизнеса курс Блокчейн для бизнеса

всё о способах заработать, грамотно внедрив технологию блокчейн

Waves Community Meetup митап Waves Community Meetup

митап с участием Александра Иванова

DEMO Europe: Майкл Макфол о том, как IT влияет на политику

Important
4 июня 2013, 10:00 доклад

4 июня в ходе первой европейской конференции DEMO в центре Digital October выступил посол Соединенных Штатов в России.

«Многие из вас наверняка задавались вопросом: «А зачем его вообще пригласили выступить на DEMO? – начал свою речь Макфол. – Все дело в том, что я тридцать лет прожил в Кремниевой долине, и когда моя посольская миссия завершится, собираюсь туда вернуться».

«Как вы понимаете, я кое-что знаю о Долине. Например, о ее духе, который выше всякой политики. Но вот о чем я не знал еще год назад, так это что такое Twitter; хотя, как оказалось, мой дом в Америке находится рядом с их штаб-квартирой».

«Сегодня у меня уже 50 000 фолловеров, плюс еще 4999 друзей и семь тысяч подписчиков в Facebook. Конечно, о Цукерберге и его проекте я знал и раньше, у меня даже было около двухсот контактов в соцсети, но вот то, что в FB нельзя добавить более пяти тысяч друзей, я выяснил, начав работать послом в России».

«Вот она – точка невозврата. Даже консервативные политики уже не могут игнорировать развитие технологического прогресса.

Социальные сети – замечательный инструмент обратной связи с обществом. Конечно, чтобы пообщаться с россиянами, можно прокатиться по Транссибирской магистрали. Но новые платформы в плане коммуникации все-таки эффективнее».

– Господин Макфол, я читаю вас в твиттере, – обращается к послу один из участников DEMO. – А вы зафолловите меня в ответ? Мой ник – «каримов».

– О, я уже знаю одного Каримова – президента Узбекистана. Да легко.

«Возвращаясь к своему выступлению, я бы хотел отметить вот еще что. Творческие люди должны общаться, делиться опытом. Партнерство в сфере инноваций – важный аспект нашей работы (возьмите сотрудничество MIT и «Сколково», как пример), и мы призываем Россию дать полную свободу тем, кто создает что-то креативное. Спасибо».

Спикеры

603 show Майкл
Макфол
посол США в РФ

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com