Bill Hutchison Lecture: Creating Intelligent Communities of the Future: The Revitalization of Toronto’s Waterfront

Important
July 14, 2011, 19:00

On July 14th in Digital October Center, Bill Hutchinson, one of the world’s leading experts on innovative urban development, delivered a lecture on “Creating Intelligent Communities of the Future: The Revitalization of Toronto’s Waterfront.”

The event was held by Skolkovo Open University with the support of Ernst & Young.

The lecture was devoted to the construction of “intelligent communities,” a concept that has recently become popular in global urban expansion and information technology development. It covered social, economic, and environmental strategies for creating “cities of the future.” Hutchison also discussed a specific project to modernize the city of Toronto’s waterfront. Waterfront Toronto is currently in charge of redeveloping 800 hectares of the city’s neglected waterfront adjacent to Toronto’s business district. By the time the project is completed, over $35 billion in investments will result in the creation of new residences, offices, and parking for 120,000 people. More than 20,000 knowledge economy specialists are at work on the project.

William (Bill) H. Hutchison is an entrepreneur and engineer, a member of the Canadian Information Processing Society, the CEO of Hutchison Management International, and Chair of the i-Canada Alliance. From 2006 to 2011, Hutchison served as Executive Director of Intelligent Community Initiatives: Waterfront Toronto, where he spearheaded a project to create one of the world’s most advanced communications systems. Previously, Hutchison worked at Ernst & Young as the National Director of the Information, Communications, and Entertainment Industries, and was also Vice-Chairman of the National Advisory Board for Science and Technology, a founder and head of the Kids’ Internet Safety Alliance (KINSA), and Founder and Director of CANARIE Inc. He was awarded the first Lifetime Achievement Award from the Intelligent Community Forum in New York for his work in creating smart cities. He also won a Canadian Information Productivity Award and was a Fellow at the Canadian Information Processing Society.

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

Fuckup Nights Moscow Лекции Fuckup Nights Moscow

Приглашаем вас для обсуждения наиболее ярких провалов и историй неудач

Sketchfest EXPO 2016 Выставка Sketchfest EXPO 2016

первая выставка скетчеров, мастер-классы и новогодний арт-маркет!

Лекция Билла Хатчисона "Создание умных городов будущего: восстановление морского фасада Торонто"

Important
14 июля 2011, 19:00

14 июля в центре Digital October Билл Хатчисон, один из ведущих мировых экспертов в области инновационного развития городов, прочел открытую лекцию на тему «Создание умных городов будущего: восстановление морского фасада Торонто».

Мероприятие проводилось Открытым Университетом Сколково при поддержке компании Ernst&Young.

Лекция была посвящена строительству «умных городов» – идее, ставшей популярной в последние годы в контексте мировой урбанизации и развития информационных технологий. Докладчик рассказал о социальных, экономических и экологических стратегиях по созданию «городов будущего», а также о конкретном проекте по модернизации морского фасада города Торонто в Канаде. Сегодня у компании Waterfront Toronto есть распоряжение о восстановлении 800 га заброшенной территории прибрежной части города, непосредственно примыкающей к деловому центру Торонто. К моменту завершения проекта в создание домов, офисов и парковок для 120000 жителей будет инвестировано более 35 миллиардов долларов. Работать над проектом будут более 20 000 специалистов в области экономики знаний.

Уильям Г. (Билл) Хатчисон – предприниматель и дипломированный инженер, член Канадского Общества по обработке информации, а также генеральный директор Hutchison Management International и председатель i-CANADA Alliance. С 2006 по 2011 г. Хатчисон работал исполнительным директором компании Intelligent Communities for Waterfront Toronto, где возглавлял проект по созданию одной из самых продвинутых в мире систем коммуникаций. Ранее Хатчисон работал в Ernst & Young директором отдела телекоммуникаций, средств массовой информации и технологий по стране; он также был вице-президентом Национального экспертного совета Канады в области науки и технологии; учредителем и главой Ассоциации за безопасность детей в Интернете (KINSA); учредителем и главой компании CANARIE Inc. За свою работу по созданию умных городов/интеллектуальных сообществ Билл Хатчисон был награжден первой Премией за пожизненные достижения от Интеллектуального форума сообщества в Нью-Йорке. Он также получил награду Канады в области информационной производительности и был избран членом Канадского Общества по обработке информации.

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com