DEMO Europe: Erick Schonfeld Interviews David Cohen

Important
June 3, 2013, 19:00

The program on June 3, the first day of DEMO Europe at the Digital October Center, closed with a panel discussion featuring representatives from Russian (Yandex.Fabrika), Bulgarian (Eleven Startup Accelerator), Danish (StartupBootcamp Copenhagen) and American (1776) accelerator programs.

The session was moderated by Erick Schonfeld, executive producer of DEMO conferences in the US and former editor in chief at TechCrunch.

When the discussion was joined via video link by David Cohen, CEO of TechStars, Erick did not miss the chance for a quick live interview.

Erick Schonfeld: Hello, David! Where are you at the moment?

David Cohen: In Colorado, where it’s nine in the morning, incidentally…

Erick: … And in Moscow it’s already seven in the evening.

We are wrapping up a great day by talking with people who represent accelerators from around the world — primarily from Europe, of course, but we also have your colleague here, Evan Burfield from 1776 incubator, Washington DC… TechStars can call itself one of the role model accelerators. Maybe you could share your statistics with us?

David: Of course. Right now we have seven locations – six in the US and a new one that we opened on that side of the Atlantic, in London. In our six plus years of existence we have financed around 200 companies, about 20 of which have signed mergers…

Erick: What percentage survives?

David: Around 85-90%. We publish this data since it is easy to verify, and keep tabs on the status of each of our companies, so the data is up to date.

 

The fact that some of the companies that go through accelerator die off with time is just natural.

 

Erick: Listen, in the last few years there have been more and more accelerators created, probably thanks to the impression left by TechStars’ success and other accelerators, for example 500 Startups. Is there the danger that at some point there might be too many accelerators?

David: I don’t think so. First of all, there won’t be less talent, and I would even make the argument that it’s the other way around.

Second, existing accelerators — from what I’ve heard there are around 900 of them in the world right now — are often really successful working in local markets and drawing that attention to projects in the early stages of their development, cultivating and developing the mentor culture.

It’s great! We all teach people how to work, and for the popularization of our work new players coming onto the scene is a good thing.

Accelerators can never be looked at as some sort of evil. Of course, not all of them really earn their keep, and some close before long, but that’s more of a danger for their creators than the entrepreneurial community as a whole.

I am certain that the situation we’re witnessing is not just another bubble, as some may think, but a demand made by the ecosystem itself. That means that the majority of these accelerators will be successful commercially. And even if they aren’t, they will create a movement in the market, an approach I find impressive.

Erick: And what do you think, is an accelerator really such a boost for investment?

David: Of course. An accelerator is a marketing tool and a good way to demonstrate your company’s progress to an investor. Isn’t that why the whole process got started, when it comes down to it?

The Demo Days, where we present projects to potential investors, are happening by the hundred all around the States, it’s just physically impossible to be at every one. So let’s not forget that the accelerator isn’t everything: it’s all in the hands of the project itself, and the way they present themselves depends on them. Although we do our best to help with a top-notch presentation, of course.

Erick: I noticed that at TechStars mentors are more and more playing the role of investors for projects. Previously investors and startups saw each other for the first time at Demo Days, while it seems like now they are trying to meet projects earlier…

David: I think that speaks to the interest being shown in TechStars,,

 

although really that’s a fantastic model for all smart accelerators.

 

I like when investors themselves hunt for potential startups. And, of course, we do our best to exploit that moment, involving investors in the mentoring program as much as we can. That’s what I call “investing on the emotional level.”

speakers

618 show Erick
Schonfeld
Producer of DEMO, ex-TechCrunch
602 show David
Cohen
CEO and co-founder of TechStars
630 show Evan
Burfield
co-founder at 1776 incubator, Washington DC
601 show Maxim
Gurvits
cofounder at Eleven Startup Accelerator
600 show Ksenia
Yolkina
Head of International Networking, Yandex
583 show Lash
Buch
Managing Director, StartupBootcamp Copenhagen

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

Fuckup Nights Moscow Лекции Fuckup Nights Moscow

Приглашаем вас для обсуждения наиболее ярких провалов и историй неудач

Sketchfest EXPO 2016 Выставка Sketchfest EXPO 2016

первая выставка скетчеров, мастер-классы и новогодний арт-маркет!

DEMO Europe. Экспресс-интервью Эрика Шонфельда с Дэвидом Коэном

Important
3 июня 2013, 19:00 панельная дискуссия

Программу 3 июня – первого дня DEMO Europe в центре Digital October, завершала панельная дискуссия с участием представителей акселерационных программ из России («Яндекс.Фабрика»), Болгарии (Eleven Startup Accelerator), Дании (StartupBootcamp Copenhagen) и США (1776).

Модератором секции выступил исполнительный продюсер конференций DEMO в США, бывший главный редактор TechCrunch Эрик Шонфельд.

Когда к дискуссии по видеосвязи подключился еще один участник – Дэвид Коэн, CEO и один из основателей акселератора TechStars, Эрик не упустил возможности провести небольшое интервью в прямом эфире.

Эрик Шонфельд: Дэвид, привет, где ты сейчас?

Дэвид Коэн: В Колорадо, у нас тут еще только 9 утра, кстати.

Э.Ш.: А в Москве уже семь вечера. Мы завершаем этот замечательный день общением с людьми, представляющими акселераторы всего мира – преимущественно Европы, конечно, но вот у нас тут сидит твой коллега, Эван Берфилд из вашингтонского 1776.

TechStars можно назвать одним из образцовых акселераторов. Может, поделишься с нами вашей статистикой?

Д.К.: Конечно. Сейчас у нас семь отделений – шесть разбросаны по США, еще одно, новое, мы открыли по ту строну Атлантики, в Лондоне.

За шесть с небольшим лет, что мы существуем, было профинансировано около 200 компаний, где-то двадцать из них заключили сделки о слиянии и поглощении ...

Э.Ш.: А каков процент выживших?

Д.К.: Где-то 85-90%. Мы публикуем эти данные, поэтому их легко проверить, и следим за статусом активности каждой из компаний, поэтому наши данные актуальны.

 

То, что часть компаний, прошедших через акселератор, со временем «отмирает» – процесс естественный.

 

Э.Ш.: Послушай, в последние годы создается все больше акселераторов – наверняка и под впечатлением от успехов TechStars и других акселераторов, скажем, 500 Startups. Не существует ли опасность, что акселераторов в какой-то момент станет слишком много?

Д.К.: Не думаю. Во-первых, талантов меньше не становится, я бы даже сказал, что наоборот.

Во-вторых, существующие акселераторы – а их, как я знаю, сейчас в мире порядка 900, они же зачастую действительно успешно работают на локальных рынках, привлекая на них внимание к проектам ранних стадий, прививая и развивая культуру менторства.

Это же здорово! Мы все учим людей работать, для популяризации нашей деятельности появление новых игроков – вещь хорошая.

Акселератор вообще нельзя, мне кажется, рассматривать как какое-то «зло». Конечно, не все они по-настоящему заработают, кто-то вскоре закроется, но это скорее представляет опасность для их создателей, а не для предпринимательского сообщества в целом.

Уверен, ситуация, которую мы наблюдаем, – не очередной «пузырь», как кто-то может думать, а запрос самой экосистемы. Значит, большинство этих акселераторов станут коммерчески успешными. А если даже и нет, они создадут на рынке «движуху», и такой подход мне очень импонирует.

Э.Ш.: А как ты считаешь, акселератор – это действительно такой скоростной лифт к инвестициям?

Д.К.: Конечно, акселератор – это маркетинговый инструмент, удачный способ продемонстрировать инвестору прогресс своей компании. Разве не ради этого самого прогресса все, в конечном итоге, и затевается?

Но те же Demo Days, в ходе которых мы представляем проекты потенциальным инвесторам, сейчас сотнями проходят по всем Штатам, и чисто физически нельзя успеть на все. Так что давайте не забывать, что не все упирается в акселератор – все в руках самого проекта, и то, в каком свете они предстанут перед вами, зависит от них самих. Хотя мы, конечно, стараемся помочь и с грамотной презентацией.

Э.Ш.: Я заметил, что в TechStars менторы все чаще выступают инвесторами проектов. Если раньше инвесторы и стартапы впервые виделись как раз на Demo Day, то теперь, складывается ощущение, многие стремятся познакомиться с проектом пораньше…

Д.К.: Думаю, тут сказывается повышенный интерес к TechStars,

 

но вообще это отличная модель для всех «умных» акселераторов.

 

Мне нравится, когда инвесторы сами «охотятся» за перспективными стартапами. И, конечно, мы стараемся использовать этот момент, максимально вовлечь инвесторов в менторскую программу. Это то, что я называю «инвестиции на уровне эмоций».

Спикеры

618 show Эрик
Шонфельд
продюсер DEMO, экс-главред TechCrunch
602 show Дэвид
Коэн
сооснователь и CEO акселератора TechStars
630 show Эван
Берфилд
сооснователь инкубатора 1776, США
601 show Максим
Гурвиц
сооснователь Eleven Startup Accelerator, Болгария
600 show Ксения
Елкина
менеджер проектов, Yandex
583 show Ларс
Бух
директор StartupBootcamp Copenhagen

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com