First Coursera Meetup held by Digital October

Important
April 26, 2013, 19:00 meetup

live

On April 26th, the Digital October Center hosted its first free meeting for current and future Russian users of Coursera, the online learning space.

The meeting was open to those who were already registered for the Coursera lecture cycle on gamification with Professor Kevin Werbach of the Wharton School of Business, as well as to those who have only recently become interested in the use of game mechanics in non-game contexts.

“Mr. Werbach already talked about gamification in our Knowledge Stream lecture, but we weren’t able to test it then, try it out in real life circumstances,” said Yulia Lesnikova, our center’s Director of Educational Programming, by way of introduction. “Today, we will fill in that blank space, and, to make things more interesting for us, at the end of the meeting, Kevin will join us via live link-up and give you a little virtual test.”

“To help you prepare for the test, we’ll have Ilya Kurylev (LinguaLeo), Artem Andreev (Internet Mass Media Laboratory), Sergey Shchukin (Ikra), Oleg Vakhromeev (Mosaic), Sammy Shirkhan (Hungry Boys), and my co-host, Maksim Korobtsev of GameTrek.”

“Virtual teams of Coursera users from all over the world will complete this assignment along with you –

We will be joined by online students from North and South America, a number of European countries, India, and even Japan.”

“One condition for all those working with us – both at Digital October and online – is that we don’t make any criticisms along the lines of, ‘no, that won’t work,’” Maksim Korobtsev chimes in. “When you’re brainstorming, tell your colleagues, ‘Yes, that’s good, but you can do it this way, too.’ And write down what you’re talking about: the human mind works such that, if you don’t pin down your idea, then you won’t go any further with it. And now, let’s get down to the matter at hand.”

Business Goals

We invited Darya Alekseeva, editor of “Social Technology Greenhouse”, a non-profit educational project, to discuss what aspects of human life event participants should gamify.

“Today we will touch on one of the ecological problems that humanity has not gone very far at all in solving. According to the UN, there are eight such problems: desertification, drought, protecting the coral reefs…It’s hard to imagine, isn’t it?”

“And now picture this: by 2050, the human demand for food supplies will have grown by 70%, while even today, a third of the food that we produce is destroyed or disposed of. And even though a lot of people are talking about this, when people hear about eco-movements, they usually imagine urban crazies signing petitions and organizing demonstrations, and not themselves, taking into account the fact that other generations will come after them.”

“And here it is, our business goal:

This term has nothing to do with commerce; in gamification, we use this phrase to talk about a concrete goal with a concrete KPI. Let’s think about how to motivate people into cutting down on overconsumption. Name any context in which you could use gamification, and think about how to make the conservation of resources appealing to people.”

The October 26th, 2013 Gamification System

As soon as they get their assignment, participants have 40 minutes, divided into three stages, to come up with a solution to the problem. Maksim Korobtsev announces the first stage: a game called ‘Remembering the Future.’

“Imagine that today isn’t April 26th, but October 26th.

It’s been six months since we at Digital October came up with a gamification system to help people realize how important it is to monitor their consumption. Tell one another how you’ve acted over the past six months using our hypothetical solution.”

Participants enthusiastically begin to describe their future lives as careful consumers: some people started buying fewer things they didn’t need, others developed an interest in energy conservation…Experts in the room make sure that the dozens of scenarios being described simultaneously are written down.

The time passes quickly, and Maksim announces a new phase:

“You’re still in October 26th. Now, describe not your actions, but what it was about our gamification system that made you change your habits, your behavior. Use the ideas that you’ve already heard at your table as a starting point.”

Once again, we hear a wide variety of options: some people realized the importance of smart consumption by watching a video, others realized that smart consumption would earn them respect on social networks, and so on.

The time comes for the third step. Twice as much time is allotted for this step, 20 minutes, but the assignment is more difficult. At their tables and in chat rooms, the Moscow and international teams are charged with picking out the ideas that would fall into a complete, logical system and preparing for a ‘boss fight’: a two-minute long presentation of the solutions that they’ve prepared in front of Kevin Verbach. At the same time, they had to account for how their system would interact with the different types of players that exist in society.

Coursera Meetup Solutions

The Russian teams presented in order of preparedness, and we tuned into the virtual groups of foreign students between those presentations.

The first solution was presented by Team 8.

“We are Game of Chairs, a project geared towards stimulating competition between companies of 30 or more employees. Their task is to change the behavior of their office workers. For instance, encouraging people to switch from cars to bicycles, motivating them not to buy things that they don’t need, litter less. We use the PBL system of encouragement: giving points for achievements, for instance.”

Next came a presentation from Team 5, which was made up of online participants.

“The Food Game Changers Program: we want children to learn how their food choices affect their environment. Our target audience is children 4-12 years old. We’ll have different tasks for different age groups: we’ll create clubs where children can share healthy recipes and plant school gardens. We’ll have badges, levels, and we’ll have a separate task for the oldest kids: teaching the younger ones in order to end up on the leader boards of their schools or of their country, even.”

Team 1.

“We use a lot of things, gadgets: why not share them via a game with your neighbors, for instance? You create a list of the things that you’re willing to give away, and a wish list of things you need. You get points for each exchange. If you help a few people, you’ll get a badge. By receiving social reinforcement, we’ll consume less and communicate more.”

Virtual group, Team 7.

“Our idea is to host an Eco-Olympics on the community level. We’ll record your successes in creating local gardens, repurposing trash, and at the same time, we’ll create a map like you’d find in SimCity. On one hand, this will create competition between communities, having them vie for badges, and on the other hand, it will allow us to track our common progress.”

Team 2.

“A big goal for a little car’: we’re going to promote the idea of using more eco-friendly cars, hybrids, and we’d like to cut down on the number of cars on the road and on harmful emissions, as well. In order to motivate people not just to switch over to eco-friendly vehicles, but to give rides to others, we’ll calculate ‘people kilometers.’ In our system, participants will also have the opportunity to receive titles, points, and go on interesting adventures.”

Virtual group, Team 4.

“We came up with a game called ‘Captain Planet’: in this game, you can save the world by only purchasing products from companies that don’t harm the environment. When you make these kinds of purchases, you will receive badges and virtual money for responsible behavior. We also managed to work out the criteria that companies will need to comply with in order to be eligible for Captain Planet status.”

Team 6.

“We’re called 100 Eco-Days. This is a program to motivate people to lower their consumption levels by using a mobile app that is synced up with social networks and, if you have them, ‘smart houses’. We’ll give out awards for every indication that people have lowered their consumption: by conserving electricity, or purchasing fewer leather products and bulky food. To motivate users, we’ll utilize elements of PBL, and avatars, too, not just for individual program participants, but for whole families, as well.”

Team 4.

“We propose a global strategy game called ‘Eco-City’: each player has his own city, and you collect points for taking certain actions towards its development, towards turning it into an ideal place. Moreover, you’ll be encouraged by your employer so that they can receive government grants.”

Results

After the presentations, Kevin Werbach took a ten-minute break to consider the solutions that had been put forward and to select the winning team. At the same time, participants and experts had the opportunity to discuss existing digital solutions from RIA Novosti, WWF, and others.

“I’m truly impressed by the number of good ideas you came up with in such a short time. The majority of your ideas were connected with PBL, and you have to understand the shortcomings of that kind of solution. For example, what kind of behavior are you going to encourage, exactly? You have to clearly articulate the kinds of actions you have in mind. Furthermore, we all know how easy it is to trick those kinds of systems: they just have to rely on community work, on the ‘horizontal pressure’ of society.

Gamification is a complicated thing, really.”

“I liked the teams with the exchange system and Eco Olympics ideas best of all. I like your ideas about community-level socialization. Team 7 referenced SimCity in a very successful way: it’s wonderful when you create as many opportunities as possible for feedback. Congratulations, you are the winners!”

photo gallery

all photos of event

partners

Mosaic
Zeptolab
Hungry Boys
GameTrek

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

Fuckup Nights Moscow Лекции Fuckup Nights Moscow

Приглашаем вас для обсуждения наиболее ярких провалов и историй неудач

Sketchfest EXPO 2016 Выставка Sketchfest EXPO 2016

первая выставка скетчеров, мастер-классы и новогодний арт-маркет!

Know More: Как открыть свой бар, кафе, ресторан и сделать его успешным? Интенсив Know More: Как открыть свой бар, кафе, ресторан и сделать его успешным?

интенсив от Даниила Гольдмана

Gamification Meetup в DO: каким будет мир 26 октября 2013-го?

Important
26 апреля 2013, 19:00 meetup

трансляция мероприятия

26 апреля центр Digital October провел первую бесплатную встречу действующих и будущих российских подписчиков образовательной площадки Coursera.

Поучаствовать в ней могли как те, кто уже подписан на «курсерианский» цикл лекций о геймификации от профессора Уортонской бизнес-школы Кевина Вербаха, так и те, кто только начал интересоваться игровыми механиками в неигровых контекстах.

«Мистер Вербах уже рассказывал о геймификации на нашей лекции Knowledge Stream, но тогда у нас не было возможности опробовать ее, примерить к реальной жизни», – открыла встречу директор образовательных программ нашего центра Юлия Лесникова. – «Сегодня мы восполним этот пробел, а чтобы нам было интереснее, в конце встречи Кевин присоединится к нам по телемосту и примет у вас небольшой виртуальный зачет».

«Готовиться к зачету вам помогут Илья Курылев (LinguaLeo), Артем Андреев («Лаборатория интернет-СМИ»), Сергей Щукин («Икра»), Олег Вахромеев (Mosaic), Сэмми Ширхан (Hungry Boys) и мой соведущий Максим Коробцев из GameTrek».

«Параллельно с вами задание будут выполнять виртуальные команды иностранных слушателей Coursera –

к нам подключатся онлайн студенты из Южной и Северной Америк, многих стран Европы, Индии и даже Японии».

«Одно условие работы для всех, кто с нами в Digital October и онлайн, – никакой критики в стиле «нет, это не сработает», – подхватывает Максим Коробцев. – «Когда вы будете брейнштормить, говорите коллегам: «Да, хорошо, а можно еще вот так». И записывайте то, о чем вы говорите – психология так устроена, что если не «заякорить» идею, то дальше не продвинешься. А теперь о теме, над которой мы будем работать».

Бизнес-цель

Рассказать о том, какую область человеческой жизни должны геймифицировать участники встречи, мы пригласили Дарью Алексееву, реактора некоммерческого образовательного проекта «Теплица социальных технологий»:

«Сегодня мы коснемся одной из экологических проблем, в решении которой человечество очень мало продвинулось. Всего их, по данным ООН, восемь: опустынивание, засухи, защита коралловых рифов… Сложно визуализировать себе, правда?»

«А теперь представьте следующее: спрос человечества на продовольствие возрастет к 2050 году на 70%, но уже сегодня треть еды, которую мы производим, уничтожается или выбрасывается. И хотя многие говорят об этом, люди, слыша об эко-движении, чаще представляют себе такого «городского сумасшедшего», подписывающего петиции и устраивающего акции, а не самих себя, думающих о том, что за нами придут следующие поколения».

«Вот она, наша бизнес-цель:

этот термин не говорит о коммерции; в геймификации так говорят, когда есть конкретная цель с конкретными KPI. Давайте подумаем, как мотивировать людей на сокращение перепотребления. Предложите любой контекст, который можно геймифицировать, и придумайте, как увлечь людей идеей экономии ресурсов».

Геймификационная система имени 26 октября 2013 года

Как только задача озвучена, у участников остаются 40 минут, разбитых на три этапа, чтобы подготовить решения проблемы. Максим Коробцев объявляет первый этап – игру «Воспоминания о будущем».

«Представьте, что сегодня не 26 апреля, а 26 октября.

Прошло полгода с того момента, как мы придумали с вами в Digital October геймификационную систему, помогающую людям понять, как важно следить за своим потреблением. Расскажите друг другу, как вы вели себя эти шесть месяцев, пользуясь этим уже условно существующим решением».

Участники с воодушевлением начинают описывать свою правильную с точки зрения потребления жизнь в будущем: кто-то стал меньше покупать ненужного, кто-то заинтересовался энергосбережением… Эксперты в зале следят за тем, чтобы десятки сценариев, озвучиваемых одновременно, записывались.

Время пролетает быстро, и Максим анонсирует новый этап:

«Вы все еще находитесь в 26 октября. Теперь опишите не ваши действия, а что такого было заложено в нашей геймификационной системе, что заставило вас изменить свои привычки, поведение. Отталкивайтесь от идей, которые уже звучали за вашими столами».

Вновь звучит огромное число вариантов: кто-то пришел к пониманию важности разумного потребления, посмотрев видео, кто-то увидел, что так зарабатывает уважение в социальных сетях и т.д.

Подходит время третьего этапа.

На него отводится вдвое больше времени – 20 минут, но и задача сложнее. Участникам московских и международных команд нужно отобрать те идеи за столами и в чатах, которые сложатся в целостную, логичную систему, и подготовиться к “boss fight” – двухминутной презентации готового решения перед Кевином Вербахом. При этом им нужно учесть, как их система будет взаимодействовать с разными типами «игроков», существующих в обществе.

Решения Coursera Meetup

Российские команды выступали в порядке готовности, а между их презентациями мы подключали виртуальные группы, составленные из иностранных студентов.

Первой свое решение предложила команда под номером восемь:

«Мы Game of Chairs – проект, приспособленный к соревнованию компаний, насчитывающих от 30 сотрудников и более. Задача: изменить поведение офисных работников. Например, пересадить людей с машин на велосипеды, мотивировать к тому, чтобы они перестали покупать ненужные вещи, меньше мусорили. Поощрение через систему PBL: например, баллами за достижения».

Второй выступила команда №5, составленная из слушателей, работавших онлайн:

«Программа Food Game Changers – мы хотим, чтобы дети узнали, как их выбор еды влияет на окружающую среду. Наша ЦА – дети от 4 до 12 лет. Для каждой возрастной группы будут разные задания: мы создадим сообщества, где дети смогут делиться рецептами правильной пищи, создавать огороды при школах. У нас будут бейджи, уровни, а для самых старших будет отдельное задание – учить младших, чтобы попасть в лидерборды в своей школе или даже стране».

Команда №1:

«Мы потребляем очень много вещей, гаджетов – почему бы ими не поделиться через игру, скажем, с соседями по двору. Вы создаете лист с вещами, которые готовы отдать, а также виш-лист с тем, что нужно вам. За каждое взаимодействие вы получаете очки. Если вы помогли нескольким людям, вы получаете бейдж. Получая социальное одобрение, мы будем меньше потреблять и больше общаться».

Виртуальная группа, команда №7:

«Наша идея – эко-олимпиады на уровне микрорайонов. Мы будем фиксировать ваши успехи в области создания локальных огородов, то, что вы утилизируете мусор, а параллельно будем создавать карту наподобие SimCity. Это, с одной стороны, создаст конкуренцию между районами – в борьбе за бейджи, а с другой – позволит нам отмечать общий успех в шкале прогресса».

Команда №2:

«Большая цель для маленькой машины» – мы будем продвигать идею использования более экологичных машин, гибридов, и хотим добиться сокращения числа авто на дорогах и сокращения вредных выбросов. Чтобы мотивировать людей не только пересаживаться на экологичные автомобили, но и подвозить других, мы будем учитывать «человекокилометры». Также в нашей системе участники смогут получать статусы, очки и проходить интересные квесты».

Виртуальная группа, команда №4:

«Мы придумали игру под названием «Капитан планета»: в ней вы можете спасти мир, покупая продукцию только тех компаний, которые не загрязняют окружающую среду. Делая такие покупки, вы получаете бейджи и игровые деньги за ответственное поведение. Мы также успели разработать критерии, которым должны соответствовать компании, которые хотят считаться дружелюбными к нашим «капитанам планета».

Команда №6:

«Мы зовемся «Сто эко-дней». Это программа, которая мотивирует людей снижать свое потребление, используя мобильное приложение, синхронизированное с соцсетями и, если они у вас есть, «умными домами». Мы будем давать награды за все, что указывает на то, что люди снизили перепотребление: экономию электричества, меньше покупок кожаных вещей или грубой пищи. Мотивировать будем через элементы PBL, а также аватары – не только для отдельных участников программы, но и для целых семей».

Команда №4:

«Мы предлагаем глобальную стратегическую игру «Эко-город» – у каждого есть свой город, и вы собираете баллы за определенные действия, чтобы его развить, превратить в такое идеальное место. Причем поощрять вас будут и работодатели, чтобы получить дотации от государства».

Итоги

После презентаций Кевин Вербах взял десятиминутный перерыв, чтобы обдумать полученные решения и выбрать лучшую команду. А участники встречи получили время, чтобы вместе с экспертами обсудить уже существующие цифровые решения от РИА «Новости», WWF и других.

«Я правда впечатлен тем, сколько хороших идей вы придумали за такое короткое время. Большая часть ваших идей была связана с PBL, и надо понимать недостатки подобных решений. Например, какое именно поведение вы будете поощрять: нужно четко прописать, какие это виды деятельности. К тому же мы все понимаем, как легко обмануть такие системы; остается только рассчитывать на работу с комьюнити, «горизонтальное давление» общества.

Геймификация – дело сложное, правда».

«Больше всего мне понравились команды с идеями обмена и эко-олимпиад. Мне нравятся ваши идеи социализации на уровне районов. Команда №7 очень удачно апеллировала к SimСity – это отлично, когда вы вводите как можно больше возможностей получения обратной связи. Поздравляю, вы и победили!»

Обсуждение и текстовая трансляция российского Coursera Gamification Meetup от Digital October по хэштегу #docoursera.

партнеры

Mosaic
Zeptolab
Hungry Boys
GameTrak

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com