“Mastering Public Speaking: Hearing is Believing”

Important
April 25, 2013, 19:30 master class

live

On April 25 the Digital October Center presented a master class taught by TV host and expert in public speaking Andrey Skvortsov.

The discussion centered on an explanation of how to learn to discuss one’s company in an interesting way, featuring clips from the speaker’s own live segments showing what to do as well as what not to do.

Andrey Skvortsov

Director and co-owner of the Merkator Group, a studio providing video infographics and presentational films, he supervises Russia by the Numbers (Russia 24), Moscow by the Numbers (Moscow 24) and the Russia 1 infographic service. He is also the author and coauthor of presentational films for Orange, PWC, Kaspersky Lab, Rostelekom, Sberbank, Gazprom, etc. In addition, he has been awarded the gold medal at the New York Festival of International Advertising, was a finalist at the 2013 NYF TV & Film Awards for a nomination as Best Entertainment News Reporter/Correspondent, and is the host of NTV’s Weather Extreme and the ProBusiness show Candid PR. He graduated from the Harvard School of Business and received an MBA from AIBEc.

“Since we’re gathered here at Digital October, I might as well talk a little bit about technological entrepreneurship to get things started. I know a woman who has a startup. And one day she asked me to give her some advice about making a video to explain what her company does.

“She says, ‘We specialize in the filtration, systemization, and aggregation of various forms of information.’ Did you get all that? Me neither. So I asked her to put it into simpler terms, to give me an example. And she says, ‘I don’t have an example.’

 

“It’s sad when a person can’t talk about his pet project, about a genuinely interesting venture.

 

“Just 10 years ago, I didn’t know anything about making presentations, either; I remember once, I was invited to a roundtable, and I prepared for it, really, I did, but…when it came my turn to speak, I couldn’t take the stress; I just got up and left. I get nervous just thinking about it.

“Now I have 500 broadcasts under my belt. That’s actually not that much by television standards, but becoming a weatherman on NTV three years ago was the reason that I started taking acting lessons. I can tell that you’re skeptical – I’ll try to convince you. Here’s how it happened:

“There’s this thing called Pozner’s First Law: if any person is shown on a federal channel for a long enough time, he’ll become famous. But in my case, two, three, four months went by, and still, no one recognized me on the street. What’s worse, no one even wrote anything on the Internet about the show getting a new host.

“That’s when I ‘offered myself up’ to an acting coach. And one month later, I started feeling the effects: my first online comment. I remember it word for word.

 

“The post went as follows: ‘Get that psychopath off the air.’

“How could this happen? On seeing my first on-air appearances, my teacher, Valentin Vasilyevich Teplyakov, who is a brilliant actor, director, and former provost of the Russian University of Theatre Arts, asked, “Andrey, how important to you is what you’re saying? Just imagine: your wife is home alone, she’s left the gas on. And you only have 30 seconds on the air to reach her, warn her, and calm her down.”

“Two weeks later, I walked into the studio, and it just so happened that a powerful storm was bearing down on the Far East. And I practically shouted, ‘You’ll all be buried in snow!’ on live television. That’s where that comment came from.

“Yes, I made a mistake, because I was clumsy then. But you know, I realize now that, if I know why I’m going on air and why I want to communicate that specific piece of information, that draws viewers in.

“Pretty much everyone talks about this, but very few people are thinking about it when it comes time to act. I’m talking about mission. If there’s a part of what you’re saying that isn’t working towards your mission, get rid of it. And while we’re on the subject, let’s talk about…

The Structure of Performance

“Stanislavskiy said that if a play is bad, then even the most brilliant actors won’t be able to bring it to life. It follows that the most important thing in structure is the internal dramaturgy, a certain conflict, if you will.

“Here’s an example: we’re in Mercator, making a video for Sberbank (in this sense, film is like a performance) that was supposed to show how the organization was changing for the better. You can tell that this was going to be a tough assignment.

“And we needed to find a way to get our message across without people wanting to throw tomatoes at us. We used criticism as a jumping-off point: leading with a problem is always interesting for viewers and listeners. And after that, we showed experts who gave answers to those criticisms.

 

“Do you know the TED conference? If you take the most watched lectures, you’ll see that 1/3-2/3 of the entire length of the lecture is spent describing the problem.

 

Because human psychology is such that people like to hear that kind of thing.”

Content

“What you never want to do is talk in general terms. I’ll give you another example from my experience with Mercator. We have a client, Vimetco; it’s an aluminum company that was entering new markets and wanted to show its investors how it takes care of the environment.

“We could have just said in the video, ‘Vimetco’s development strategy includes support for the following ecological programs.’ Would you believe that? People are irritated by commonplaces; what’s more, it’s completely possible to interpret generalized statements in different ways.

 

If you don’t get to the heart of the matter, people will get the impression that you’re lying.”

 

“With that understanding, we started looking for concrete examples for Vimetco. We went to Sierra Leone, where the company has its raw materials mines, and saw for ourselves how they were taking the territory that they had bought from the local communities and restoring and returning the land for free. And if they were behaving that way in a poor country that had just seen the end of a civil war, they were probably working just as responsibly in China and Europe.”

Presentation

“So let’s go back to what I was talking about at the beginning. With my apologies to the greats of theater, and to Konstantin Sergeevich himself, who had a real distaste for expounders, I’ll try to give you a brief overview of the Stanislavskiy method. Of course, there are hundreds of nuances. I’ll focus on what we call an ‘action’.

“When I came to my teacher for the first time, he told me that I don’t understand what I’m talking about on the air. I reply, “Excuse me, but I’m a trained meteorologist, and what is there to understand here anyway? In Volgograd, it’s 15 degrees Celsius, in Moscow, it’s 10.’

“This is connected with the idea of generalization, by the way. I actually already understood what he was talking about; if I were nothing but a talking thermometer, what would be the point of putting me on television?

“Then he told me what an ‘action’ is. It means: to surprise, to delight, to warn, to comfort, to scare. Even if a viewer isn’t amazed, he’ll understand that you’re making an effort, that you actually care.

 

“But here, you’ll be faced with a dilemma: if you’re not getting anybody riled, you’re probably not very good.

 

“You can’t please everybody: either you won’t get noticed and no one will remember anything you do or you’ll be big, but not everyone will like it. And to make that happen, there are several technical approaches.”

“For instance, concentrating on your task. At NTV, we use the following format: weather reports filmed outside, not just outside, but, for instance, at a motorcycle rally. I did that once. And we went on air, and the people there started getting in the way, and I totally forgot what I was supposed to say. The next time, I really boned up on my text, but it happened all over again. That’s when I had my conversation with V.V. Teplyakov, when he gave the example about the gas and my wife. And you know what? Today, I can work just fine, even without a prompter.”

“Another approach is creating a conversation with your audience. This means having the ability to occasionally pick out one particular person in the room, say something specifically directed at him, and pick up on his reaction. By the way, while you’re talking to one particular person, everyone else will listen, too: they’ll be interested in it.”

“And now, let’s talk about being natural.

Compare presentations that Steve Jobs made when he was 25 and when he was 45:

In the first case, you have a person who uses an arsenal of clichés, in the second , you have a completely different person. I think he taught himself that, though experience has something to do with it, too.”

“You know, saying ‘act natural’ to a person who has to perform in front of five hundred strangers…For many people, acting natural in that kind of situation means making a fool of yourself as little as possible. That’s why speakers use so many clichés.”

“There’s an approach you can use to avoid them. It’s called ‘seeing the picture’. When you’re choosing the stories that you’re going to tell people, keep the ones that you can imagine vividly. It’s hard to see the picture when you’re in front of a crowd.”

“Remembering, experiencing, acting out your stories – sharp stories, the kind that really touch people – is a method you can use to immerse yourself and connect emotionally with your material. If you want to give a genuinely great performance and draw your audience in on more than content alone, you need emotion. It’s risky, but

 

there’s a second Pozner’s Law, too: “All genres are good, except the boring kind.”

photo gallery

all photos of event

Digital October

contacts

119072, Moscow, Bersenevskaya Naberezhnaya, 6, str.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com

Digital October

AR/VR Gamedev Moscow Конференция AR/VR Gamedev Moscow

конференция-выставка по использованию технологий дополненной

Андрей Скворцов: публичные выступления «по Станиславскому»

Important
25 апреля 2013, 19:30 мастер-класс

трансляция мероприятия

25 апреля в центре Digital October Андрей Скворцов провел открытый мастер-класс «Мастерство публичных выступлений: услышал и поверил». Ведущий НТВ, обладатель международных ТВ-наград и совладелец компании-производителя мультимедиа контента «Меркатор» объяснил, как вовлечь слушателей, и поделился практическими приемами, которые он почерпнул из знаменитой системы Станиславского.

Андрей Скворцов

Директор и совладелец студии видеоинфографики и презентационного кино «Меркатор», курирует проекты «Россия в цифрах» («Россия-24»), «Москва в цифрах» («Москва-24») и службу инфографики на «Россия-1». Автор и соавтор презентационных фильмов для Orange, PWC, «Лаборатории Касперского», «Ростелекома», «Сбербанка», «Газпрома» и др. Обладатель золотой медали Нью-Йоркского фестиваля рекламы, финалист «2013 NYF TV & Film Awards» в номинации «Корреспондент информационно-развлекательного жанра». Ведущий «Погоды на НТВ» и программы «Откровенный PR» на телеканале ПроБизнес. Выпускник Гарвардской школы бизнеса и программы MBA бизнес-школы AIBEc.

 

«Раз мы собрались в Digital October, для затравки я немного поговорю о технологическом предпринимательстве. У меня есть знакомая – а у нее есть стартап. И как-то она попросила меня проконсультировать ее насчет видеоролика, который бы объяснял, что они делают».

«Она говорит: «Мы занимаемся фильтрацией, систематизацией и агрегацией разнообразной информации». Все поняли, нет? Я вот тоже попросил ее объяснить как-то проще, пример привести. А она говорит: «У меня нет примера».

 

Это же печально, когда люди не могут рассказать о любимом деле, о действительно интересном проекте».

 

«Еще лет 10 назад я сам не умел выступать совершенно – помню, меня позвали на круглый стол, я честно готовился, но… Когда подошла моя очередь говорить, я не выдержал напряжения, просто встал и ушел. Даже вспоминать страшно».

«Сегодня у меня за плечами полторы тысячи эфиров. Это на самом деле не очень много по телевизионным меркам, но именно благодаря тому, что три года назад я стал ведущим прогноза погоды на НТВ, я стал заниматься с театральными преподавателями. Вижу скепсис – и постараюсь вас переубедить. История была следующей».

«Есть такой «первый закон Познера»: если кого угодно показывать регулярно на федеральном канале, он станет знаменитым. Но в моем случае прошло два, три, четыре месяца, но меня на улице никто не узнавал. А что еще хуже, даже в сети никто не написал о появлении нового ведущего».

«Тогда я «сдался» преподавателям актерского мастерства.

И через месяц был эффект – первый отзыв в сети. Я его наизусть помню.

 

Текст был такой: «Уберите психопата из эфира».

«Как это случилось? Мой преподаватель, Валентин Васильевич Тепляков – профессор, блестящий режиссер, 20 лет проработавший деканом актерского факультета ГИТИСа, – посмотрев мои первые выпуски, спросил: «Андрей, а насколько тебе действительно важно, что ты рассказываешь? Вот представь: твоя жена в квартире одна, она оставила газ включенным. И у тебя есть только 30 секунд, чтобы через эфир связаться с ней, предупредить и успокоить ее».

«Через две недели я пришел в студию, а тогда как раз мощный шторм шел на Дальний Восток. И я чуть ли не кричал в эфире: «Вас всех завалит снегом!» Так и появился тот отзыв».

«Да, я совершил ошибку, потому что тогда действовал топорно. Но знаете, теперь я вижу, что если я знаю, зачем я выхожу в кадр и почему хочу донести людям именно эту информацию, то это вовлекает зрителей».

«Об этом ведь, в принципе, все говорят, но мало кто думает, когда доходит до дела. Я о миссии. Если какая-то часть вашей речи не работает на миссию – выкиньте эту часть. И раз уж мы заговорили об этом, давайте обсудим...

Структуру выступления

«Еще Станиславский говорил, что если пьеса плохая, то даже самые блестящие актеры ее на сыграют. Поэтому самое важное в структуре – это внутренняя драматургия, некий, если хотите, конфликт».

«Вот вам пример: мы в «Меркаторе» делали фильм для «Сбербанка» (а в этом плане фильм – аналог выступления), который должен был рассказать, как организация меняется к лучшему. Вы понимаете, задача сложная».

«И нам нужно было найти прием, как донести этот посыл так, чтобы нас не закидали помидорами. Мы начали с критики: начать с проблемы – это всегда интересно для зрителя и слушателя. А следом показали экспертов, на эту критику отвечающих».

 

«Знаете конференцию TED? Если взять самые просматриваемые выступления, то окажется, что рассказ о проблеме в них занимает от 1/3 до 2/3 всего времени.

 

Потому что психология людей такова, что им интересно слушать именно об этом».

Содержание

«Чего никогда не надо делать – так это говорить общих слов. Приведу еще пример из практики «Меркатора». У нас есть клиент Vimetco, это алюминиевая компания, которая выходила на новые рынки и хотела объяснить инвесторам, как она заботится об экологии».

«Мы могли просто сказать в видео: «В стратегии развития Vimetco поддержка экологических программ прописана отдельным пунктом». Вы бы поверили? Людей раздражает банальность; к тому же, общие слова все имеют полное право понимать по-разному.

 

Если вы не объясняете сути, у людей создастся ощущение, что вы врете».

 

«Понимая это, мы стали искать для Vimetco конкретику. Поехали в Сьерра-Лионе, где у компании находятся рудники для добычи сырья, и сами видели, что территорию, которую они выкупили у местных общин, они восстанавливают и возвращают обратно безвозмездно. И если они так поступают в бедной стране, где недавно закончилась гражданская война, то, наверное, они столь же ответственно работают в Китае и Европе».

 

Подача

«Итак, вернемся к тому, с чего я начал рассказ. Да простят меня великие и сам Константин Сергеевич, который очень не любил толкователей, но я постараюсь вкратце изложить вам систему Станиславского. Конечно, там сотни нюансов. Я остановлюсь на том, что называется «действием».

«Когда я первый раз пришел к своему преподавателю, он сказал мне, что я не понимаю, о чем говорю в эфире. Я отвечаю: «Извините, я метеоролог по образованию, да и вообще чего там понимать – в Волгограде +15, в Москве +10».

«Это к вопросу общих слов, кстати. На самом деле я уже знал, о чем он – если я был просто «говорящим градусником», то кому я вообще нужен в телевизоре».

«Тогда он и рассказал мне о том, что такое «действие». Это значит – удивить, обрадовать, предупредить о чем-то, успокоить, напугать. Даже если слушатель не удивится, он поймет, что вы для него стараетесь, что вам, в общем-то, не все равно.

 

Но здесь вы столкнетесь с выбором: если вы никого не раздражаете – вы, наверное, «никакой».

 

«Для всех нельзя быть классным: либо вас никто не заметит и ничего не запомнит, либо вы «зажжете», но не всем это понравится. А чтобы у вас это получилось, есть несколько технических приемов».

«Например, концентрация на задаче. На НТВ у нас есть такой формат – выпуски погоды с улицы; не просто с улицы, а, например, с байкерского слета, был у меня такой опыт. И вот мы выходим в эфир, а люди вокруг начинают мешать – и я напрочь забыл текст. На следующий раз я вызубрил текст, но вновь все повторилось. Именно тогда и произошел тот мой разговор с В.В. Тепляковым, когда он привел пример с газом и женой. И знаете что – сегодня я спокойно работаю даже без суфлера».

«Еще один прием – диалог с аудиторией. Это умение время от времени выбирать конкретного человека в зале, говорить что-то именно ему и считывать обратную связь. Кстати, пока вы будете говорить с кем-то одним, все остальные тоже будут слушать – им будет интересно».

«А теперь давайте поговорим о естественности.

 

Сравните выступления Стива Джобса, когда ему было 25 и 45:

 

в первом случае это кто-то, кто использует набор штампов, во втором – это совсем другой человек. Думаю, он этому учился, хотя и опыт никто не отменял».

«Знаете, говорить «будь естественным» человеку, которому нужно выступить перед пятью сотнями незнакомых людей… Быть естественным в такой ситуации для многих – это максимум не быть дураком. Отсюда-то часто возникают штампы в поведении ораторов».

«Есть такой прием, который помогает их избежать. Он называется «видеть картинки». Когда вы выбираете истории, которые будете рассказывать людям, оставьте те, которые можете себе живо представить. Это трудно, увидеть картинку, когда стоишь перед толпой».

«Вспоминать, проживать, проигрывать свои истории – острые, чтоб они по-настоящему трогали – это метод погружения и эмоционального проживания материала. Если вы хотите по-настоящему классно выступать и увлекать не только содержанием, то без эмоций не обойтись. Это рискованно, но

 

есть и «Второй закон Познера»: все жанры хороши, кроме скучного».

 

В марте 2012 года Андрей Скворцов провел в нашем центре блестящий мастер-класс, посвященный инфографике. Узнать о том выступлении подробнее вы можете по ссылке.

Digital October

контакты

119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 6, стр.3

+7 (499) 963–31–10
+7 (985) 766–19–25
do@digitaloctober.com